Paar mit Fahrrädern im ÖBB Railjet

Your bicycle on the train

On ÖBB trains, you have several options of taking your bicycle along.

Whether you prefer a pleasant ride around a lake or want to conquer the highest peaks on your mountain bike: countless bike trails throughout Austria await you. On ÖBB trains, you have several options of taking your bicycle along.

You can take your bicycle along on most local and long-distance trains. Within Austria, you will need a special bicycle ticket which costs 10% of a full price ticket 2nd class for the route (a minimum fee of € 2.- applies). In addition to this, you can also purchase weekly or monthly tickets for your bicycle. For international routes, we offer you the Biking International Ticket at a price of € 12.-.

Door-to-Door luggage service

If you would prefer not to transport your bicycle by train, you can have it collected from your home and transported to your holiday destination with our convenient door-to-door luggage service.

How to get your bicycle ticket

You can buy your bicycle ticket up to six months in advance: online, via the ÖBB App, at the ÖBB Customer Service at +43 (0)5 1717, and from the ÖBB ticket counters.

A note for all e-bikers: Our trains do not have any charging points for bicycle batteries. The power sockets in the carriage are suitable for small devices only. You should therefore ensure your bicycle’s batteries are fully charged before the journey!

Taking your bicycle along on regional trains

For local transport (regional train, regional express and S-Bahn), we will be glad to take your bicycle along if enough free spaces are available. On these trains, it is not possible to reserve a space for your bicycle.

Small groups may also benefit from the Einfach-Raus bicycle ticket.

Taking your bicycle along on long-distance trains

On long-distance trains (Railjet, Intercity, Eurocity, Express train as well as Nightjet), you need to reserve a space for your bicycle. Reservations at the ÖBB ticket shop or via the ÖBB App cost € 3.-. At the ÖBB customer service at +43 (0)5 1717 and at the ÖBB ticket counters, you pay € 3.50 for this.

Please note

Bicycles exceeding our standard dimensions (length over 185 cm, height over 110 cm, width over 60 cm, tire size from 29 inches) or tandems, recumbent bikes, and bicycle trailers can only be transported in special luggage compartments. For these, online reservations and reservations via the ÖBB App are not possible.

Hints for your departure

  • To make travelling by train and bike a pleasure from the outset, we recommend arriving on the platform 5 to 10 minutes before departure.
  • Your reservation confirmation (for long-distance trains) shows which carriage your reserved bicycle space is located in. Please refer to the carriage indicator (information board) on the platform in advance to find out which sector the bicycle carriage will stop in.
  • Before the train arrives, please remove all items of luggage (e.g. panniers) from your bicycle. Boarding and loading can then take place without a rush.
  • If your bicycle is very dirty, please clean it before boarding.
  • You are personally responsible for loading your bicycle. When boarding and alighting, please ensure that you do not damage the train or your bicycle.
  • In order for your bicycle to be stowed securely for the train journey, most long-distance trains are fitted with bicycle hooks. Local trains have designated areas with straps for securing your bicycle safely.

Paar mit Fahrrädern im ÖBB Railjet

Fahrradmitnahme

In den ÖBB Zügen haben Sie eine Reihe an Möglichkeiten, Ihr Fahrrad mitzunehmen.

Von der gemütlichen Fahrt um den See bis zur Gipfeltour mit dem Mountainbike: Unzählige Radwege laden in ganz Österreich zum Radeln ein. In den ÖBB Zügen haben Sie eine Reihe an Möglichkeiten, Ihr Fahrrad mitzunehmen.

Sie können Ihr Fahrrad in den meisten Nah- und Fernverkehrszügen mitnehmen. In Österreich brauchen Sie dafür ein spezielles Radticket zum Preis von 10% des ÖBB-Vollpreises der 2. Klasse für die Fahrtstrecke (mindestens € 2,-). Außerdem können Sie Wochen- oder Monatskarten für Ihr Fahrrad kaufen. Für internationale Strecken bieten wir Ihnen das Biking International Ticket zum Preis von € 12,- an.

Haus-Haus-Gepäck

Wer das Fahrrad nicht selbst im Zug transportieren möchte, kann es ganz bequem mit dem Haus-Haus-Gepäck-Service von zu Hause abholen und an den Urlaubsort transportieren lassen.

So kommen Sie zu Ihrem Radticket

Sie können Ihr Radticket bei diesen Stellen bis zu 6 Monate im Voraus buchen: online, über die ÖBB App, beim ÖBB Kundenservice unter +43 (0)5 1717 und an den ÖBB Ticketschaltern.

Demontierte und verpackte Fahrräder sowie zusammengelegte Falträder können kostenfrei als Handgepäck mitgenommen werden. Diese sind in den hierfür vorgesehenen Gepäckablagen bzw. -regalen sicher zu verstauen.

Ein Hinweis für alle E-Biker: In unseren Zügen gibt es keine Ladestationen für Fahrrad-Akkus. Die Steckdosen in den Wagen sind nur für Kleingeräte geeignet. Bitte sorgen Sie daher vor der Reise für volle Akkus!

Wir ersuchen Sie um Verständnis, dass bei kurzfristig notwendigen Schienenersatzverkehren in den Bussen keine Fahrräder mitgenommen werden können.

Mit dem Rad im Nahverkehrszug

Im Nahverkehr (Regionalzug, Regionalexpress und S-Bahn) nehmen wir Ihr Fahrrad gerne mit, wenn es genügend freie Stellplätze gibt. Sie können in diesen Zügen keinen Platz für Ihr Rad reservieren.

Für Kleingruppen in Nahverkehrszügen haben wir außerdem das Einfach-Raus-Radticket im Angebot.

Mit dem Rad im Fernverkehrszug

Im Fernverkehr (Railjet, Intercity, Eurocity, Schnellzug/D-Zug sowie Nightjet) müssen Sie einen Platz für Ihr Fahrrad reservieren. Die Reservierung kostet online und über die ÖBB App € 3,-. Beim ÖBB Kundenservice unter +43 (0)5 1717 und an den ÖBB Ticketschaltern zahlen Sie dafür € 3,50.

Bitte beachten Sie

Fahrräder, die unsere Standardmaße überschreiten (Länge über 185 cm, Höhe über 110 cm, Breite über 60 cm, Reifengröße ab 29 Zoll) bzw. Tandems, Liegeräder und Fahrradanhänger können nur in speziellen Gepäckabteilen transportiert werden. Dafür sind Reservierungen online bzw. über die ÖBB App nicht möglich.

Tipps zur Abreise vom Bahnhof

  • Damit Bahn- und Radfahren von Anfang an zum Vergnügen wird, empfehlen wir, 5 bis 10 Minuten vor der Abfahrt zum Bahnsteig zu kommen.
  • Auf Ihrer Reservierungsbestätigung (für Fernverkehrszüge) steht, in welchem Wagen sich Ihr Fahrradstellplatz befindet. Informieren Sie sich vorab am Wagenreihungsanzeiger am Bahnsteig in welchem Sektor der Fahrradwagen hält.
  • Nehmen Sie bitte vor dem Eintreffen des Zuges Gepäckstücke (z.B. Packtaschen) vom Rad. Dann geht das Einsteigen und Verladen ohne Hektik.
  • Bitte reinigen Sie Ihr Fahrrad vor dem Einsteigen, wenn dieses stark verschmutzt ist.
  • Sie sind selbst verantwortlich, Ihr Rad zu verladen. Achten Sie beim Ein- und Aussteigen bitte darauf, weder den Zug noch Ihr Fahrrad zu beschädigen.
  • Um Ihr Rad für die Zugfahrt sicher zu verstauen, gibt es in den meisten Fernverkehrszügen Fahrradhaken. In Nahverkehrszügen gibt es definierte Bereiche, in denen Gurte zur sicheren Befestigung des Fahrrades zur Verfügung stehen.