City panorama with castle in Bratislava

Sparschiene Slovakia

It’s not just nearby Bratislava that enchants every visitor - this Central European nation is a cultural melting pot

Bratislava is the only European capital to border two neighbouring countries at once - Austria and Hungary - so it’s no surprise that this lively city on the Danube is so diverse and has so much to offer, whether you’re visiting for business or pleasure. With the direct trains RJX160/167 Zurich - Innsbruck - Salzburg - Vienna - Bratislava and IC44/45 Vienna - Bratislava - Košice, we offer high-quality travel options to Bratislava and numerous other cities in Slovakia. You can reach the capital city directly from western Austria on the Railjet, and from southern Austria with a transfer at Vienna Central Station. Or have you got other destinations in mind first? The Intercity from Vienna Central Station will take you to Poprad-Tatry, the gateway to the Tatra Mountains, or to Košice, the starting point for discovering eastern Slovakia.

Tip

Please note that, for travel in Slovakia, a seat reservation is required on 1st and 2nd class on Intercity trains, in 1st class on Eurocity trains and express trains (R, RR)!

Local transport to Bratislava

Additional REX local trains run twice per hour between Vienna Central Station and Bratislava. As the Sparschiene ticket is not available on local transport, you can alternatively use the REX trains with the low-cost Bratislava Ticket

Save money with rail travel

Great experiences at a small price. When you choose ÖBB Sparschiene, you’re choosing affordable, comfortable and environmentally friendly travel. Due to space being limited, we recommend booking well in advance of your journey, especially during peak periods.

Stadtpanorama mit Schloss in Bratislava

Sparschiene Slowakei

Nicht nur das nahe Bratislava verzaubert bei jedem Besuch: Das Land in der Mitte Europas lässt Grenzen verschwimmen.

Willkommen im Schmelztiegel der Kulturen: Als einzige Hauptstadt Europas grenzt Bratislava gleich an zwei Nachbarländer - Österreich und Ungarn. Dementsprechend facettenreich gestaltet sich ein Besuch in der lebhaften Donaumetropole, egal ob beruflicher oder privater Natur. Mit den Direktzügen RJX160/167 Zürich - Innsbruck - Salzburg - Wien - Bratislava und IC44/45 Wien - Bratislava - Košice bieten wir hochwertige und umsteigefreie Reisemöglichkeiten nach Bratislava und zu zahlreichen Städten in der Slowakei. Die Hauptstadt erreichen Sie von Westösterreich ohne Umsteigen im Railjet, aus Südösterreich mit Umsteigen in Wien Hauptbahnhof. Oder stehen zuerst andere Ziele auf dem Plan? Im Intercity ab Wien Hauptbahnhof geht’s nach Poprad-Tatry, dem Tor zur Hohen Tatra, oder nach Košice, dem Ausgangspunkt zur Entdeckung der Ostslowakei.

Tipp

Bitte berücksichtigen Sie, dass für Reisen in der Slowakei in den Intercity-Zügen in der 1. und 2. Klasse, in den Eurocity-Zügen und Schnellzügen (R, RR) in der 1. Klasse eine Sitzplatzreservierung erforderlich ist!

Nahverkehr nach Bratislava

Zwischen Wien Hauptbahnhof und Bratislava fahren zusätzlich zweimal pro Stunde REX-Züge des Nahverkehrs. Da die Sparschiene im Nahverkehr nicht erhältlich ist, können Sie die REX-Züge alternativ mit dem günstigen Bratislava-Ticket nutzen.

Bahn fahren, Geld sparen

Große Erlebnisse zum kleinen Preis: Wer auf die ÖBB Sparschiene setzt, reist budgetfreundlich, bequem und umweltbewusst. Aufgrund des begrenzten Platz-Kontingents ist eine rechtzeitige Buchung vor allem zu den Hauptreisezeiten empfehlenswert.