Trevi Fountain in Rome

Sparschiene Italy

The land where dreams come true. Austria’s delightful neighbour represents lifestyle, beauty, food, culture and no shortage of dolce vita.

Irresistible diversity: With amore in your heart and an ÖBB Sparschiene ticket in your pocket, you can discover all of Italy in comfort, without breaking the bank. Travel back in time in the Eternal City of Rome, fall in love again in Venice, and then come back to your senses in the cool waters of Lake Garda. And we can’t overlook cities like Florence, Milan, Trieste and Bolzano, which attract visitors in their droves. Benvenuto!

Bologna, Florence & Rome

Don’t forget the classics! Take the ÖBB Nightjet overnight to Bologna, Florence or Rome. Ideal for those who want to use the journey as a chance to relax and start the first day of each visit well rested. Typical of the regions of Emilia-Romagna and Tuscany are the authentic delicacies, gentle landscapes and immense cultural treasures.
Tip: You should take plenty of time to discover Italy's capital - nowhere else will you find so many sights packed so closely together.

Sunset at the Colosseum in Rome

Venice

The Nightjet runs from Vienna and Salzburg to the heart of the legendary lagoon city every day, because Venice never goes out of fashion. After enjoying breakfast on board, you can dive into the hustle and bustle with a new lease of life. Take the gondola from highlight to highlight and enjoy the flair of the medieval alleyways with a gelato in hand. Time to visit the Grand Canal with its Renaissance and Gothic palaces. It’s not to be missed!

Prefer to chase the sun? Even during the day, bus and train travel is flexible and stress-free:

  • twice daily with the ÖBB Railjet from Vienna via Leoben
  • Daily every 2 hours from Salzburg to Villach and then continue with the ÖBB Intercitybus from Villach (as seats are limited, remember to book well in advance).
Gondolas on the Grand Canal in Venice

Verona, Lake Garda & Milan

Fancy visiting Lombardy, Veneto or the country's most casual lake? In Verona not only Romeo and Juliet fall into raptures, Milan fascinates visitors as a lively fashion city and Lake Garda is a source of lasting refreshment. The ÖBB Nightjet runs daily from Vienna, Leoben and Klagenfurt directly to the treasure troves of Italy. From the stations of Peschiera or Desenzano you can reach the southern shores of Lake Garda, nestled in a gentle hilly landscape where the sun shines eternal.

Prefer to travel during the day?

  • The DB-ÖBB Eurocity trains run 5 times daily from Munich via Kufstein and Innsbruck directly to Verona and Rovereto. From there, there are good bus connections to many lakeside resorts - for example to Riva del Garda and Malcesine.
Sunset on Lake Garda in Italy

Bolzano

Breathtaking mountain massifs, fragrant orchards and endless vineyards await when you set off from Vienna to South Tyrol. From Innsbruck, the treasure trove of the Alps, it is only a short journey to Upper Italy. When you arrive in Bolzano, you’ll find endless beauty just waiting to be discovered: contemporary architecture and urban vibes meet tradition and nature amidst landscapes full of contrasts.

All that diversity is worth a visit - and we’ll gladly take care of that:

  • The daily direct connection with the ÖBB Railjet runs from Vienna via Salzburg and Innsbruck to Bolzano and back. 
  • In addition, the DB-ÖBB-Eurocity runs from Innsbruck to Bolzano and back five times a day.
Town square of Bolzano in Italy

Trieste

This city has so much to offer, and is always accompanied by the sparkle of the sea. The Adriatic port city is not "typically" Italian, its architecture is often reminiscent of Austrian cities, and a hint of Slovenian creeps into the language. This multiculturalism can also be seen in the cuisine: It combines overseas influences with the original "dolce vita". Even the Habsburgs loved the flair of this city. A visit to Miramare Castle, surrounded by magnificent gardens, is a must.

  • There is a daily direct EC connection to Trieste from Vienna and Graz. 
  • Alternatively, you can travel from Vienna via Salzburg and Venice to Udine in the heart of Friuli. You can stay there or take the regional train to Trieste.
Castello di Miramare in Triest

Save money with rail travel

Great experiences at a small price. When you choose ÖBB Sparschiene, you’re choosing affordable, comfortable and environmentally friendly travel. Due to space being limited, we recommend booking well in advance of your journey, especially during peak periods.

Trevi Brunnen in Rom

Sparschiene Italien

Reiseträume werden wahr: Österreichs genussreicher Nachbar steht für Lebensart, Schönheit, Kulinarik, Kultur und jede Menge dolce vita.

Eine Vielfalt, die einfach unwiderstehlich ist: Mit Amore im Herzen und dem ÖBB Sparschiene-Ticket können Sie preiswert und bequem ganz Italien entdecken. In der ewigen Stadt Rom tauchen wir tief in die Geschichte ein, verlieben uns in Venedig neu und holen uns im kühlen Nass des Gardasees wieder einen klaren Kopf. Aber auch Städte wie Florenz, Mailand, Triest und Bozen sind echte Sehnsuchtsorte. Benvenuto!

Bologna, Florenz & Rom

Bereit für die großen Klassiker? Mit dem ÖBB Nightjet geht es über Nacht nach Bologna, Florenz oder Rom. Ideal, für alle, die bereits die Anreise zum Kräftesammeln nutzen wollen - so startet man ausgeschlafen in den ersten Urlaubstag. Typisch für die Regionen Emilia-Romagna und Toskana sind die authentischen Delikatessen, sanfte Landschaften und immense Kulturschätze.
Tipp: Um Italiens Hauptstadt zu entdecken, sollte man sich ausreichend Zeit nehmen - so viele Sehenswürdigkeiten dicht an dicht gibt es sonst nirgends.

Sonnenuntergang beim Colosseum in Rom

Venedig

Mit dem Nightjet reist man von Wien und Salzburg ins Herz der legendären Lagunenstadt - und zwar täglich, denn Venedig kommt nie aus der Mode. Nach einem Frühstück an Bord geht es gestärkt ins Getümmel: Gäste gondeln im wahrsten Sinne von Highlight zu Highlight und genießen das Flair der mittelalterlichen Gässchen mit einem Gelato in der Hand. Der Canale Grande mit seinen Palästen aus der Renaissance und Gotik wartet! 

Sie reisen lieber der Sonne nach? Auch untertags funktioniert die Anfahrt mit Bus und Bahn flexibel und stressfrei:

  • Täglich zwei Mal mit dem ÖBB Railjet ab Wien über Leoben
  • Täglich im 2-Stunden-Takt von Salzburg nach Villach und dann weiter mit dem ÖBB Intercitybus ab Villach (Da die Plätze begrenzt sind, denken Sie an eine rechtzeitige Buchung)
Gondeln am Canal Grande in Venedig

Verona, Gardasee & Mailand

Lust auf die Lombardei, Venetien oder den lässigsten See des Landes? In Verona geraten nicht nur Romeo und Julia ins Schwärmen, Mailand fasziniert als lebhafte Metropole der Mode und der Gardasee erfrischt nachhaltig. Der ÖBB Nightjet bringt Sie täglich von Wien, Leoben und Klagenfurt direkt in die Schatzkammern Italiens. Von den Stationen Peschiera oder Desenzano erreichen Sie den südlichen Teil des Gardasees, eingebettet in eine sanfte Hügellandschaft und stets sonnengeküsst.

Sie reisen lieber tagsüber? 

  • Die DB-ÖBB Eurocity-Züge fahren 5-mal täglich von München über Kufstein und Innsbruck direkt nach Verona und Rovereto. Ab dort gibt es gute Busverbindungen zu vielen Seeorten - etwa nach Riva del Garda und Malcesine. 
Gardasee in Italien

Bozen

Beeindruckende Bergmassive, duftende Obstplantagen und endlose Weingärten warten, wenn man sich von der Donaumetropole Wien auf nach Südtirol macht. Von Innsbruck, der Schatzkammer der Alpen, ist es nicht mehr weit nach Oberitalien. In Bozen angekommen, warten die Schönheiten der Stadt nur darauf erlebt zu werden: Zeitgenössische Architektur und urbane Vibes treffen auf Tradition und Natur pur, eingebettet in kontrastreiche Landschaften.

So viel Vielfalt ist eine Reise wert - um diese kümmern wir uns gerne: 

  • Die tägliche Direktverbindung mit dem ÖBB Railjet führt ab Wien über Salzburg und Innsbruck nach Bozen und retour. 
  • Außerdem bringt uns der DB-ÖBB-Eurocity täglich fünf Mal von Innsbruck nach Bozen und zurück.
Stadtplatz von Bozen in Italien

Triest

Diese Stadt hat viel zu bieten, stets begleitet vom Glitzern des Meeres. Die Hafenstadt an der Adria ist nicht "typisch" italienisch, ihre Architektur erinnert oft österreichische Städte, in die Sprache schummelt sich ein Hauch slowenisch. Den MultiKulti-Touch merkt man auch in der Küche: Sie vereint übers Meer angereisten Einflüsse mit original Dolce Vita. Dieses Flair liebten schon die Habsburger, ein Besuch von Schloss Miramare inmitten prächtiger Gärten ist ein Muss.

  • Nach Triest geht es via EC-Direktverbindung täglich ab Wien und Graz. 
  • Oder man reist von Wien via Salzburg und Venedig nach Udine im Herzen von Friaul. Dort verweilt man oder steigt in den Regionalzug nach Triest.
Castello di Miramare in Triest

Bahn fahren, Geld sparen

Große Erlebnisse zum kleinen Preis: Wer auf die ÖBB Sparschiene setzt, reist budgetfreundlich, bequem und umweltbewusst. Aufgrund des begrenzten Platz-Kontingents ist eine rechtzeitige Buchung vor allem zu den Hauptreisezeiten empfehlenswert.