Sujet Museum Niederösterreich - kites and squirrels

Museum Lower Austria

A journey through the history and nature of Lower Austria

Just 28 minutes from Vienna Central Station and 44 minutes from Linz Central Station with convenient half-hourly train connections with the ÖBB Railjet, St. Pölten is the perfect day trip destination for visitors of all ages, and with the TOP Jugendticket it is also quick and convenient to reach for school groups. It is a comfortable 15-minute walk to the museum from the railway station. Starting right from the train station, a nesting box educational trail gives visitors lots of interesting information about the local birds as it winds through the green oases of St. Pölten (the state capital of Lower Austria) to the Museum Niederösterreich. Visitors can also reach the museum by walking along the city’s baroque promenade.

After this stroll through the regional capital’s attractive baroque pedestrianised zone, the Haus der Geschichte (History Museum) offers a journey through 40,000 years of human history and the Haus für Natur (Nature Museum) an interactive walk through the habitats of Lower Austria. The “perfekte Welle" (meaning “perfect wave”) by renowned architect Hollein literally unites both buildings under one roof.

The Haus der Geschichte thematically presents 3,000m² of exhibitions focussing on the important aspects of Lower Austria's history in the context of Central Europe, making use of the most up-to-date methods of communication. A watchtower from the Iron Curtain, an escape plane and the golden treasure horde from Wiener Neustadt are just a few of the many impressive objects.

The Haus für Natur is more than just a museum - it is also a zoo. As you walk past the Danube Tank and on towards the high mountains you will also encounter 40 living indigenous species of animals from catfish - Austria’s largest native fish - to green lizards and tree frogs, to grass snakes and adders.

In addition to the contents of the two museums, various exhibitions are presented each year. The museum garden, the Pan Pan restaurant and numerous events such as the contemporary witness forum “Erzählte Geschichte” (History Narrated) and the discussion forum “Erlebte Natur” (Nature Experienced) invite you to linger and entice you to return. Good public transport connections continue into the evening.

Our exhibitions in 2023

"Wildnis.Stadt" Urban Jungle (until 12.02.2023)
Cities are some of the most biodiverse areas in Central Europe and are particularly important for protecting and promoting biodiversity. Cities are made up of a mosaic of different habitats that can provide a habitat for various plant and animal species. The special exhibition investigates this “urban jungle" and presents nature where you least expect it.

Wider die Macht (Resistance) - The Art Collection of the Documentation Centre of Austrian Resistance (until 15.01.2023)
More than 150 graphics, drawings and oil paintings of the Documentation Archive of the Austrian Resistance tell stories of resistance, war and persecution between 1934 and 1945. The Haus der Geschichte in St. Pölten presents these comprehensively for the first time. These are images of life and death in camps, of violence against opponents of the regime, Jews and the Romany, but also images of the struggle against National Socialism and Fascism.

Communication by Animals, Plants and Fungi (from 18.03.2023)
The world of animal communication is fascinating, diverse, mysterious and full of clever tricks. Animals communicate to find a mate, mark out their territory, warn other members of their species about predators, point out food sources and much, much more. Plants and fungi send out messages too. This special exhibition offers fascinating insights into current research and explains how cats and dogs can understand each other better.

An Unruly Country. Protests and Strikes since 1848. (from 17.02.2023)
This exhibition challenges the common historical narrative in which rural people are portrayed as being apolitical. Its historical arc spans over 170 years, from the “liberator of peasant farmers” Hans Kudlich to a resistance network of forced labourers under the Nazi regime, to the Semperit workers’ strike and the occupation of the Hainburger Au wetlands.

Vacancies. Holidays in Austria since 1945 (from 23.09.2023)
From 1945, an economic upturn and increasing prosperity, a construction boom and mass motorisation all play a role in changing the economy and infrastructure of the tourism sector, and in doing so, alter the topography of tourism. Previously neglected areas boom and traditional destinations lose traction. Renting private hotel rooms becomes an essential pillar of post-war tourism, before second homes and other kinds of accommodation start to mount a challenge.

Included services

  • Admission to Museum Lower Austria (admission is valid for all exhibitions)

Destination station: St. Pölten

Opening hours

Tuesday - Sunday + Holiday: 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Special opening days 2022/23

  • Mon, 31. October, 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sat, 24. December, 9 a.m. – 1 p.m.
  • Sat, 31. December, 9 a.m. – 1 p.m.
  • Mon, 2. January, 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Closing days 2022/2023

  • every Monday except holiday
  • 25., 26. December 2022 & 1. January 2023

Price overview

Price overview Museum Lower Austria
Offers ÖBB Plus-offer Local prices
Adults € 5.- € 10.-
Children 7<18 years € 2.50 € 5.-

Valid from 01.09.2022 - 31.12.2023 
Children up to the age of 7 are free

Note on the redemption of the ÖBB Plus

You travel as planned, and on either the same day or one of the two following days, you simply exchange the voucher directly at the touristic attraction.

Sujet Museum Niederösterreich - Wildnis Stadt

Museum Niederösterreich

Eine Reise durch die Geschichte und die Natur Niederösterreichs

Nur 28 Minuten von Wien Hauptbahnhof und nur 44 Minuten von Linz Hauptbahnhof entfernt mit attraktiven halbstündlichen Zugverbindungen mit dem ÖBB Railjet ist St. Pölten das perfekte Tagesausflugsziel für Groß und Klein und mit dem Top Jugend Ticket auch schnell und günstig für Schulklassen erreichbar. Vom Bahnhof zum Museum sind es 15 gemütliche Minuten zu Fuß. Bereits vom Bahnhof weg erzählt ein Nistkastenlehrpfad viel Wissenswertes über heimische Vögel und führt dabei über die grünen Oasen der Landeshauptstadt zum Museum Niederösterreich. Der Weg zum Museum ist auch über die barocke Flaniermeile der Landeshauptstadt möglich.

Im Kulturbezirk angekommen, bieten das Haus der Geschichte eine Reise durch 40.000 Jahre Menschheitsgeschichte und das Haus für Natur eine interaktive Wanderung durch die Lebensräume Niederösterreich. Die „perfekte Welle“ von Star-Architekt Hollein vereint beide Häuser sprichwörtlich unter einem Dach.

Das Haus der Geschichte beleuchtet auf 3.000 Quadratmetern thematisch aufbereitet mit modernster Vermittlung die wichtigen Themen der Geschichte Niederösterreichs im zentraleuropäischen Kontext. Ein Wachturm des Eisernen Vorhangs, ein Fluchtflieger oder der Goldschatz von Wiener Neustadt sind nur einige von vielen eindrucksvollen Objekten.

Das Haus für Natur ist nicht nur Museum, sondern auch Zoo. Und so begegnet man auf seinem Spaziergang vom Donaubecken bis zum Hochgebirge auch 40 lebenden einheimischen Tierarten vom Wels, dem größten heimischen Fisch über Smaragdeidechse und Laubfrosch bis hin zu Ringelnatter und Kreuzotter.

Ergänzend dazu werden jährlich wechselnde Ausstellungen präsentiert. Der Museumsgarten, das Restaurant Pan Pan und zahlreiche Veranstaltungen wie das Zeitzeugen-Forum "Erzählte Geschichte" oder das Diskussions-Forum "Erlebte Natur" laden zum Verweilen und Wiederkommen ein. Auch abends gibt es dazu gute öffentliche Verbindungen.

Die Ausstellungen im Jahr 2023

"Wildnis.Stadt" (bis 12.02.2023):
Städte gehören in Mitteleuropa zu den artenreichsten Räumen und haben eine besondere Bedeutung für den Schutz und die Förderung biologischer Artenvielfalt. Städte bestehen aus einem Mosaik an unterschiedlichen Lebensräumen, die verschiedenen Pflanzen und Tierarten Lebensgrundlage bieten können. Die Sonderausstellung spürt diesem „Urban Jungle“ nach und stellt dort Natur vor, wo man sie am wenigsten vermutet.

"Wider die Macht - Die Kunstsammlung des Dokumentationsarchivs des Österreichischen Widerstandes" (bis 15.01.2023):
Die über 150 Grafiken, Zeichnungen und Ölgemälde des Dokumentationsarchivs des Österreichischen Wiederstandes erzählen Geschichten von Widerstand, Krieg und Verfolgung zwischen 1934 und 1945. Im Haus der Geschichte in St. Pölten werden sie erstmals umfassend präsentiert. Es sind Bilder vom Leben und Sterben in Lagern, von Gewalt gegen Regimegegner, Juden und Roma, aber auch Bilder vom Kampf gegen Nationalsozialismus und Faschismus.

Kommunikation bei Tieren, Pflanzen und Pilzen (ab 18.03.2023)
Die Welt der tierischen Kommunikation ist faszinierend, vielfältig, geheimnisvoll und trickreich. Tiere kommunizieren, um einen Partner zu finden, um ein Revier zu markieren, um Artgenossen vor Feinden zu warnen, auf Nahrungsquellen hinzuweisen und vieles mehr. Auch Pflanzen und Pilze senden Botschaften aus. Die Sonderausstellung bietet spannende Einblicke in aktuelle Forschung und erklärt, wie sich Katz und Hund besser verstehen können.

Aufsässiges Land. Proteste und Streiks seit 1848 (ab 17.02.2023)
Die Ausstellung wirkt einer gängigen Geschichtsschreibung entgegen, die Menschen am Land für unpolitisch hält. Der historische Bogen spannt sich dabei über 170 Jahre von dem „Bauernbefreier“ Hand Kudlich über ein Widerstandsnetzwerk von NS-Zwangsarbeiter*innen bis hin zum Semperit-Streik und der Besetzung der Hainburger Au.

Zimmer frei. Urlaub in Österreich ab 1945 (ab 23.09.2023)
Wirtschaftsaufschwung und steigender Wohlstand, Bauboom und Massenmotorisierung verändern nach 1945 Ökonomie und Infrastruktur des „Fremdenverkehrs“ und damit die touristische Topografie. Bislang vernachlässigte Gegenden boomen, traditionelle Destinationen verlieren an Zugkraft. Die Privatzimmervermietung wird eine wesentliche Säule des Nachkriegstourismus, ehe Zweitwohnsitze und Parahotellerie diese unter Druck setzen.

Inkludierte Leistungen

  • Eintritt in das Museum Niederösterreich (der Eintritt gilt für alle Ausstellungen)

Zielbahnhof: St. Pölten

Öffnungszeiten

Dienstag - Sonntag + Feiertag: 09:00 - 17:00 Uhr

Sonderöffnungstage 2022/23

  • Mo, 31. Oktober, 09:00 - 17:00 Uhr
  • Sa, 24. Dezember, 09:00 – 13:00 Uhr
  • Sa, 31. Dezember, 09:00 – 13:00 Uhr
  • Mo, 2. Jänner, 09:00 - 17:00 Uhr

Schließtage 2022/2023

  • jeden Montag außer Feiertage
  • 25., 26. Dezember 2022 & 1. Jänner 2023

Preisübersicht

Preisübersicht Museum Niederösterreich
Angebote ÖBB Plus-Angebot Preise vor Ort
Erwachsener € 5,- € 10,-
Kinder 7<18 Jahre € 2,50 € 5,-

Gültig von 01.09.2022 - 31.12.2023
Kinder unter 7 Jahre gratis.

Hinweis zur Einlösung des ÖBB Plus

Die Reise antreten und am selben oder den beiden darauffolgenden Tagen den Voucher einfach bei der Kassa der jeweiligen Freizeiteinrichtung gegen das gebuchte Freizeitangebot eintauschen.