Requests for fare payment

Legal basis for fare recovery claims and inspection fees.

The legal basis for issuing a claim for fare recovery and a ticket inspection fee can be found in the following documents:

In levying an inspection fee it is necessary to distinguish whether the ticket inspection is carried out in a local train or in an intercity train:

Local and regional public transport

In local trains of ÖBB (i.e. trains that are labelled R, REX, or S-Bahn), a journey may only be commenced with a valid ticket. The only exceptions are at boarding stations where a ticket purchase is not possible.

Tickets can be purchased before departure

If it is not possible to purchase a ticket at the boarding station (e.g. because there are no ticket machines available or working) a ticket must be purchased immediately after boarding either at the ticket machine on the train (at one end of the train), or by seeking out the train crew to purchase a ticket, as soon as you are able to.

If you are found on a commuter train without a valid ticket, you will be liable to an inspection fee of € 90,- (for immediate cash payment). You will receive a receipt showing the fare recovery claim number and a confirmation of the personal details that have been noted, if requested.

If you do not pay immediately, the charge is increased by an administration fee of € 30,-. In such a case, your personal details will be noted and a fare recovery claim issued for later payment. You will receive a confirmation with all the necessary information for payment (fare recovery claim number, bank details, etc.).

Intercity Travel

In all intercity trains (railjet ICE, EC, IC, EN, D) it is possible to purchase a ticket on board the train subject to an additional charge of € 3,-. You must contact the train crew as soon as your situation allows, preferably right after boarding.

If you do not contact the train crew, an inspection fee of € 90,- , (for immediate cash payment), is payable in addition to your rail fare. You will receive a receipt showing the fare recovery claim number and if requested a confirmation of the personal details that have been noted.

If you do not pay immediately, the fare charge is increased by an administration fee of € 30,-). In such cases, your personal details will be noted and you will be issued a fare recovery claim for later payment. You will receive a confirmation with all the details necessary for the payment (reference number, bank and account details, etc.).

Pendler am Bahnsteig vor dem ÖBB Railjet

Fahrgeldnachforderung

Rechtliche Grundlagen der Fahrgeldnachforderung und Kontrollgebühr.

Die rechtlichen Grundlagen für die Ausstellung von Fahrgeldnachforderungen und Kontrollgebühr sind in folgenden Unterlagen zu finden:

Bei der Einhebung der Kontrollgebühr wird unterschieden, ob die Fahrausweis-Kontrolle in einem Zug des Nahverkehres oder in einem Zug des Fernverkehres vorgenommen wird.

Nah- und Regionalverkehr

In Nahverkehrszügen der ÖBB (das sind Züge mit der Bezeichnung R, REX oder S-Bahn) kann die Fahrt nur mit gültiger Fahrkarte angetreten werden. Die einzige Ausnahme sind Zustiegsbahnhöfe, in denen ein Fahrkartenkauf nicht möglich ist.

Fahrkarten erhalten Sie vor Fahrtantritt

Ist ein Fahrkartenkauf an der Zustiegsstation nicht möglich (weil z. B. kein Ticketautomat vorhanden ist) kaufen Sie bitte umgehend nach dem Einsteigen eine Fahrkarte entweder beim Ticketautomaten im Zug (an einem Ende des Zuges) oder suchen Sie so rasch wie in Ihrer Situation möglich das Zugbegleitpersonal auf, um ein Ticket zu erwerben.

Sollten Sie in Zügen des Nahverkehrs ohne gültiges Ticket angetroffen werden, fällt eine Kontrollgebühr von € 90,- (bei sofortiger Barzahlung) an. Sie erhalten eine Bestätigung mit einer Fahrgeldnachforderungsnummer und auf Wunsch Ihren Daten ausgestellt.

Zahlen Sie nicht umgehend, erhöht sich der Betrag um eine Bearbeitungsgebühr (€ 30,-). In einem solchen Fall werden Ihre Daten erfasst und eine Fahrgeldnachforderung zur späteren Bezahlung ausgestellt. Sie erhalten eine Bestätigung mit allen zur Einzahlung notwendigen Angaben (Fahrgeldnachforderungsnummer, Bankdaten, …).

Fernverkehr

In allen Zügen des Fernverkehrs (Railjet, ICE, EC, IC, EN, D) besteht auch die Möglichkeit, Tickets mit einem Ausgabeaufschlag (€ 3,-) im Zug zu erwerben. Dazu müssen Sie sich so rasch wie in Ihrer Situation möglich beim Zugbegleitpersonal melden - am besten direkt nach dem Zustieg.

Melden Sie sich nicht beim Zugbegleitpersonal, fällt zuzüglich zum Fahrpreis eine Kontrollgebühr von € 90,- (bei sofortiger Barzahlung) an. Sie erhalten eine Bestätigung mit einer Fahrgeldnachforderungsnummer und auf Wunsch Ihren Daten ausgestellt.

Zahlen Sie nicht umgehend, erhöht sich der Betrag um eine Bearbeitungsgebühr (€ 30,-). In einem solchen Fall werden Ihre Daten erfasst und eine Fahrgeldnachforderung zur späteren Bezahlung ausgestellt. Sie erhalten eine Bestätigung mit allen zur Einzahlung notwendigen Angaben (Geschäftszahl, Bankdaten, …).