Special compartments

We offer special zones or areas as needed.

It is important to us that as a passenger on ÖBB trains, you feel as comfortable as possible. That is why we offer you special zones depending on your individual needs - from ladies' compartments over toddler and breast-feeding compartments to quiet zones.

Now new on the ÖBB Railjet

Family Zone ÖBB Railjet (2nd class)
The last 2nd class carriage on the ÖBB Railjet (carriage 21/31) offers a Family Zone with a children's cinema and table games, where you can feel free to play and laugh. In this zone, it can get a bit loud at times. Thank you for understanding. The legal guardians are responsible for the care and supervision of the children.

Quiet Zone ÖBB Railjet (1st & 2nd class)
On the Railjet, we offer Quiet Zones for undisturbed travel. In the interest of your fellow travellers, we therefore ask you to please keep quiet here.

Family- & quiet zone

Family Zone - Fun, games and rail travel

When children play, it can get a bit loud at times. That is why the ÖBB Railjets offer the so-called Family Zone - an area designed specifically for fun and games. Here, you will find our children's cinema as well as tables with decals of different fun board games, providing entertainment for our small and big passengers. The required game pieces are available from the train attendants! The toilets are also designed in a child-friendly Timi Taurus look, offering a lot to discover.

This is where you can find our Family Zone on the ÖBB Railjet

2nd class: carriage 21 or 31

  • Children’s cinema
  • Tables with decals of fun board games (such as e.g. "Timi ärgere dich nicht" or Nine Men’s Morris - game pieces available from the train attendants
  • Toilets in Timi Taurus design with nappy-changing facilities
  • Space for prams

Quiet Zones for relaxed travel or undisturbed work

After a day's work, head home in comfort, use the trip for a school or work project, or enjoy the beauty of the Austrian landscape in a calm and relaxed travel atmosphere - the Quiet Zone on the ÖBB Railjet is versatile and offers you an ideal space! The only important thing is that the "rules of the game" are observed so that all passengers can relax during their trip.

As a courtesy to your fellow passengers, we kindly ask you to observe the Quiet Zone. The following rules apply in the Quiet Zone:

  • Keep your voice down
  • Set your mobile phone to silent
  • Listen to music with headphones at low volume
This is where you can find our Quiet Zones on the ÖBB Railjet:
  • Class: carriage 27 or 37
  • Class: carriage 23 or 33

On our ÖBB Railjets, Quiet Zones are available in both first class (on 51 out of 60 ÖBB Railjets) and 2nd class.

Other special compartments

Quiet areas (1st & 2nd class)
On many ÖBB Eurocity and ÖBB Intercity trains, as well as on the Intercity-Express, there are specially marked quiet areas for undisturbed travel. In the interest of your fellow travellers, we therefore ask you to please keep quiet here.

Ladies’ compartment (2nd class)
For female passengers travelling alone, we have established a special ladies' compartment on many ÖBB Eurocity and ÖBB Intercity trains, as well as on certain evening trains. The 6 seats can be reserved up to 3 months in advance. The same applies to the ladies' couchette compartments on ÖBB night trains. Male passengers are requested to move to the other compartments and to keep these special places free for ladies.

Toddler compartment (2nd class)
On many ÖBB Eurocity and ÖBB Intercity trains, as well as on the Intercity-Express, we offer special compartments for small children. The 6 seats are reserved exclusively for families and can be reserved for any route. Here, the children have room to play, while the parents get a chance to lean back and relax.

Breast-feeding compartment (2nd class)
On many ÖBB Eurocity, Intercity and Intercity-Express trains, breast-feeding mothers will find a special breast-feeding compartment. Curtains block the view, ensuring the required degree of privacy. During a trip, mothers and their babies can withdraw to the breast-feeding compartment at any time. These seats cannot be reserved.

Spezialabteile

Wir bieten Ihnen je nach Bedarf spezielle Zonen bzw. Bereiche an.

Uns ist es wichtig, dass Sie sich als Fahrgast in den ÖBB Zügen so wohl wie möglich fühlen. Deshalb bieten wir Ihnen je nach Bedarf spezielle Zonen bzw. Bereiche an.

In welchen Zügen die angeführten Spezialabteile und Bereiche angeboten werden, sehen Sie, wenn Sie in der Fahrplanauskunft die Detailansicht aufrufen.

Jetzt neu im ÖBB Railjet

Familienzone ÖBB Railjet (2. Klasse)
In den ÖBB Railjets befindet sich im letzten Wagen (Wagen 21/31) der 2. Klasse eine Familienzone mit Kinderkino und Tischspielen, wo gespielt und gelacht werden kann. In dieser Zone kann es auch einmal lauter werden, wir bitten um Verständnis. Die Betreuung und Aufsichtspflicht obliegt den Erziehungsberechtigten.

Ruhezonen ÖBB Railjet (1. & 2. Klasse)
In unseren Fernverkehrszügen befinden sich Ruhezonen bzw. -abteile in eigens gekennzeichneten Bereichen/Wagen um ungestört reisen zu können. Wir bitten Sie daher im Sinne der Mitreisenden sich dort ruhig zu verhalten.

Familien- & Ruhezone

Familienzone - Spiel, Spaß & Zugfahren

Wenn Kinder spielen, kann es auch einmal lauter werden. Aus diesem Grund gibt es in den ÖBB Railjets die sogenannte Familienzone - ein Bereich, in dem speziell für Spiel und Spaß Platz ist. Dort gibt es unser Kinderkino sowie beklebte Tische mit unterschiedlichen, lustigen Gesellschaftsspielen, welche für Unterhaltung unserer kleinen und großen Fahrgäste sorgen. Die benötigten Spielsteine gibt es bei  den ZugbegleiteInnen! Auch das WC wurde kindgerecht im Look von Timi Taurus gestaltet und bietet einiges zu entdecken.

Hier ist unsere Familienzone im ÖBB Railjet zu finden

2. Klasse: Wagen 21 bzw. 31

  • Kinderkino
  • Beklebte Tische mit lustigen Gesellschaftsspielen (wie zB. Timi ärgere dich nicht oder Mühle) - Spielsteine beim Zugpersonal erhältlich
  • WC im Timi Taurus Design mit Wickelmöglichkeit
  • Kinderwagenabstellplatz

Ruhezonen für entspanntes Reisen oder ungestörtes Arbeiten

Nach einem Arbeitstag gemütlich die Heimfahrt antreten, die Fahrt für ein Projekt für die Schule oder Arbeit nutzen, oder in ruhiger und entspannter Reiseatmosphäre die Schönheit der österreichischen Landschaft genießen Die Ruhezone im ÖBB Railjet ist vielseitig und bietet Ihnen den geeigneten Raum! Wichtig ist nur, dass die Spielregeln eingehalten werden damit alle Fahrgäste relaxed reisen können.

Bitte Im Sinne der Mitreisenden bitten wir Sie, die Ruhezone einzuhalten. In der Ruhezone gelten folgende Spielregeln:

  • sich leise zu unterhalten/flüstern
  • Ihr Mobiltelefon lautlos zu stellen
  • Musik mit Kopfhörern leise zu hören
Hier sind unsere Ruhezonen im ÖBB Railjet zu finden
  • 1. Klasse: Wagen 27 bzw. 37
  • 2. Klasse: Wagen 23 bzw. 33

Ruhezonen stehen in unseren ÖBB Railjets sowohl in der 1. Klasse (in 51 von 60 ÖBB Railjets verfügbar) als auch in der 2. Klasse für Sie zur Verfügung.

Weitere Sonderabteile

Ruhebereiche (1. & 2. Klasse)            
In zahlreichen ÖBB Eurocity- und ÖBB Intercity-Zügen sowie im Intercity-Express befinden sich eigens gekennzeichnete Ruhebereiche um ungestört reisen zu können. Wir bitten Sie daher im Sinne der Mitreisenden sich dort ruhig zu verhalten.

Damenabteil (2. Klasse)
Für allein reisende weibliche Fahrgäste haben wir in zahlreichen ÖBB Eurocity- und ÖBB Intercity-Zügen sowie in einigen Abendzügen ein Damenabteil eingerichtet. Die 6 Sitzplätze lassen sich - ebenso wie die Damenabteile im Liegewagen des ÖBB Nachtreisezugs - bis zu 3 Monate im Voraus reservieren. Männliche Fahrgäste bitten wir auf die übrigen Abteile auszuweichen und diese speziellen Plätze für Damen freizuhalten.

Kleinkindabteil (2. Klasse)
In zahlreichen ÖBB Eurocity- und ÖBB Intercity-Zügen sowie im intercity-Express bieten wir Kleinkindabteile an. Die 6 Sitzplätze sind ausschließlich Familien vorbehalten und können für jede beliebige Strecke reserviert werden. Hier haben die Kinder Platz zum Spielen und die Eltern auch einmal Zeit, sich entspannt zurückzulehnen.

Stillabteil (2. Klasse)
In zahlreichen ÖBB Eurocity, Intercity und Intercity-Express finden stillende Mütter ein Stillabteil. Vorhänge sorgen für einen Sichtschutz und damit für die nötige Privatsphäre. Während der Reise können sich Mütter mit ihren Babys bei Bedarf jederzeit in das Stillabteil zurückziehen. Die Plätze sind nicht reservierbar.