S-Bahn Sujet "Ruck Zuck"

S-Bahn Vienna/Lower Austria/Burgenland

The S-Bahn is an important part of public transport in the eastern region of Austria

Light green and vintage pink are the new colours that will make the two most frequented S-Bahn lines in Vienna recognisable in the future. This includes the main line from Floridsdorf to Meidling (S1, S2, S3 & S4) as well as the suburban line from Handelskai to Hütteldorf (S45).

The S-Bahn is an essential part of the inner-city transport network in Vienna. Following the 5 underground lines in Vienna, the two S-Bahn lines now have their own colours on the traffic maps as well as a correspondingly colour-coded guidance systems in the stations.

Both S-Bahn lines are specially marked in green and vintage pink on all ÖBB and Wiener Linien maps, thus making it even easier for passengers to find their way around. Both the rapid connection map, the “overhead map” on the underground doors and the Vienna metropolitan area public transport map will have the same design in the future. In addition, the 19 stations of the two most important Viennese S-Bahn lines from Floridsdorf to Meidling and from Handelskai to Hütteldorf also received a new colour guidance system.

The next one will be here shortly and you will reach your destination in no time.

Vienna’s S-Bahn railway  between Floridsdorf and Meidling runs on average every 4 minutes and is comparable to the travel time intervals of the city’s underground system. Every train stops at each station, with the exception of the exception of the S7 airport line, which branches off from the main line at Vienna Rennweg.

The suburban line (S45) between Handelskai and Hütteldorf also takes you through or into the city quickly. The S-Bahn runs daily in 10 to 15 minute intervals.

No extra charge.

All S-Bahn lines in Vienna's metropolitan area can also be used with the annual ticket and all other VOR tickets (traffic association for the eastern region) for the Vienna core zone.

Vienna’s S-Bahn: A story of success

Vienna’s rapid railway system S-Bahn has been in operation since 17 January 1962. From the very beginning, the S-Bahn with its main line from Vienna/Floridsdorf to Vienna/Meidling was designed to connect the surrounding areas of Vienna with the city. This transport policy decision had a far-reaching impact on the development of the entire eastern region.

Vienna’s S-Bahn in figures:

  • 89,003 million local transport passengers
  • 1,410 local transport trains per day
  • 10* S-Bahn lines
  • 890 S-Bahn trains per day

* total number of S-Bahn lines in the eastern region (Vienna, Lower Austria, Burgenland); 10 (some cross provincial borders)

ÖBB operates 10 S-Bahn lines in Vienna/Lower Austria/Bgld

Transport association tickets

Book selected transport association tickets for Vienna now!
Booking is easy, either online at tickets.oebb.at or mobile using the ÖBB App!

Boarding with valid ticket only

Please note that on ÖBB local trains (these are trains designated as S-Bahn, R or REX) you are required to have a valid ticket prior to boarding the train. The only exceptions are boarding stations where it is not possible to purchase a ticket.

S-Bahn Sujet "Ruck Zuck"

S-Bahn Wien, Niederösterreich und Burgenland

Die S-Bahn ist ein wesentlicher Bestandteil des Verkehrsnetzes in der Ost-Region

Hellgrün und Altrosa - das sind die neuen Farben, anhand derer die beiden meistfrequentierten S-Bahn-Linien in Wien künftig erkennbar sind. Dazu gehören die Stammstrecke von Floridsdorf nach Meidling (S1, S2, S3 & S4) sowie die Vorortelinie vom Handelskai nach Hütteldorf (S45).

Die S-Bahn ist ein wesentlicher Bestandteil des innerstädtischen Verkehrsnetzes in Wien. Analog zu den 5 Wiener U-Bahnlinien bekommen die beiden S-Bahnlinien nun eine eigene Farbe auf den Verkehrsplänen sowie eine dementsprechend farblich gekennzeichnete Wegeleitung in den Stationen.

Beide S-Bahn-Linien sind in sämtlichen ÖBB Plänen und Plänen der Wiener Linien farblich in Grün bzw. Altrosa besonders ausgewiesen und ermöglichen somit eine noch leichtere Orientierung für die Fahrgäste. Sowohl der Schnellverbindungsplan, der "Überkopfplan" bei den U-Bahn-Türen als auch der Plan Nahverkehr Großraum Wien haben künftig dasselbe Design. Weiters bekamen auch die 19 Bahnhöfe der beiden wichtigsten Wiener S-Bahn-Strecken von Floridsdorf nach Meidling und vom Handelskai nach Hütteldorf eine neue farbliche Wegeleitung.

Es kommt gleich die nächste und es geht ruck zuck.

Die Wiener S-Bahn fährt zwischen Floridsdorf und Meidling im Durchschnitt alle 4 Minuten und ist mit den Fahrzeitintervallen der Wiener U-Bahn vergleichbar. Jeder Zug hält in jeder Station, mit Ausnahme der Flughafenschnellbahn S7, die ab Wien Rennweg von der Stammstrecke abzweigt.
Fahrplan der altrosa Linie

Auch auf der Vorortelinie (S45) zwischen Handelskai und Hütteldorf ist man auf schnellem Weg durch bzw. in der Stadt. Die S-Bahn verkehrt täglich in einem 10 bis 15 Minuten Takt.
Fahrplan der hellgrünen Linie

Es kostet nichts extra.

Alle S-Bahn-Linien im Wiener Stadtgebiet sind auch mit der Jahreskarte und allen anderen Tickets des VOR (Verkehrsverbund Ost-Region) für die Kernzone Wien nutzbar.

Erfolgsgeschichte der S-Bahn in Wien

Seit dem 17. Jänner 1962 fährt in Wien die Schnellbahn. Von Beginn an war die S-Bahn mit ihrer Stammstrecke von Wien Floridsdorf nach Wien Meidling für die Anbindung des Wiener Umlands an das Stadtgebiet konzipiert. Diese verkehrspolitische Entscheidung hatte weitreichende Auswirkungen auf die Entwicklung der gesamten Ostregion.

Die S-Bahn in Wien in Zahlen:

  • Fahrgäste Nahverkehr 89,003 Mio.
  • Züge pro Tag Nahverkehr 1.410
  • S-Bahn-Linien 10*
  • S-Bahn-Züge pro Tag 890

* Gesamtzahl der S-Bahn-Linien in der Ostregion (Wien, NÖ, Bgld); 10 (überschreiten teilweise die Landesgrenzen)

Die ÖBB betreiben 10 S-Bahn-Linien in Wien/NÖ/Bgld

Verkehrsverbund-Tickets

Jetzt ausgewählte Verbundtickets für Wien buchen! Einfach online unter tickets.oebb.at bzw. mobile mit der ÖBB App!

Zustieg nur mit gültiger Fahrkarte

Bitte beachten Sie, dass in Nahverkehrszügen der ÖBB (das sind Züge mit der Bezeichnung S-Bahn, R oder REX) die Fahrt nur mit gültiger Fahrkarte angetreten werden kann. Die einzige Ausnahme sind Zustiegsbahnhöfe, in denen ein Fahrkartenkauf nicht möglich ist.