Biobetrieb Josef Göltl

Vienna, Lower Austria & Burgenland

A culinary day

Next stop: Vienna

Coffeehouse culture meets urban farming

In Vienna, taking a leisurely stroll through the city centre is simply part of the lifestyle. Enjoy a stroll between magnificent palaces and buildings in Art Nouveau style, make a stop at the Natural History Museum or the Hofburg, and soak up the relaxed big-city flair in the city park. That’s Vienna.

The Austrian capital marries the traditional with the modern. In Vienna, the coffee house and pastry culture is part of the long-established craft: it sets the perfect scene for observing passers-by over a coffee speciality such as the Melange or the Maria Theresia (a coffee with whipped cream and orange liqueur) and enjoying a handmade apple strudel.

But Vienna also has a pronounced love of wine: The best way to celebrate the view over the city is with a fruity glass of Wiener Gemischter Satz DAC at one of the numerous wine taverns on the hills of Kahlenberg or Nussberg. Would you like to learn more about Viennese wine? Ask the local winemakers. A cultivated chat about varieties, soil and history is part of good manners here.

Food start-ups, innovative chefs and exciting pop-up restaurants cast Vienna in a new light every time you visit.

On the outskirts of Vienna, in the 22nd district, four young farmers produce fresh vegetables and fish. Do tomatoes from the big city taste good? You bet! If you think a trip to the 22nd district seems too long, Blün's vegetables can also be sampled at the trendy Karmelitermarkt or at the Labstelle restaurant in the first district.

The team at the Labstelle is very proud of its suppliers and they are more than happy to introduce them: the chicken is from Lugitsch, the fish from Moser, the vegetables from Blün. This is then transformed into multi-course farm-to-table menus - with short transport routes. Be sure to make a reservation.

Next stop: Lower Austria

Old varieties, old crafts

The culinary relaxation experience includes a trip to the rolling hills of Lower Austria. Here, the extensive wine culture with a view of the Danube is complemented by blossoming poppy fields and apricot trees. Not to mention people who are dedicated to the specialities of Lower Austria.

Make sure you try the Wachau apricots. These succulent, fruity old varieties are now associated with the Danube region like hardly anything else. Except perhaps the wine, which thrives excellently in the Wachau due to the unique climate.

Those who love fruit can refresh themselves with a cider typical of the region - a drink made from fermented apple or pear juice. Josef and Doris Farthofer share their knowledge and enjoyment in Öhling. The Mostelleria offers visitors a glimpse behind the scenes of cider production.

There is one more good reason for food enthusiasts to make a stop in the Wachau: Philipp Essl serves classic tavern cuisine at lunchtime and exquisite dishes in the evening at the Landgasthaus Winzerstüberl. Grammelknödel (potato dumplings filled with greaves), Beuschel (lights) and the Essl-Backhenderl (Essl deep fried chicken) then make way for the creative menu of the kitchen team. Asparagus and poppy seed miso, oats and Maiwipferl (spruce tip syrup) are transformed into recipes that take guests on a brief culinary holiday.

Located approximately 50 kilometres to the north-east, Georg Gilli's oil mill is an absolute highlight for foodies. He has made it his mission to bottle the taste of Weinviertel and Waldviertel. He exclusively uses seeds from the immediate vicinity and presses small quantities of organic oils from camelina, hemp and linseed.

Today, the oil producer offers guided tours and tastings in the Gilli family's old flour mill, which is no longer in use. Anyone looking for inspiration on how best to use the organic oils can get tips directly from Georg Gilli. The oil miller particularly enjoys the intense green pea or asparagus flavour of camelina oil, which is ideal for enhancing the flavour of dishes after cooking.

Next stop: Burgenland

Land of sunshine

Burgenland's hot summers and approximately 300 days of sunshine a year give it its beautiful nickname - and it's not just the numerous vineyards and orchards that benefit from this.

Lake Neusiedl is considered a dream destination for sun-seekers, cycling enthusiasts and water lovers - a natural paradise complete with a national park. 340 species of birds alone find their species-protected habitat there. The region has also been a UNESCO World Cultural and Natural Heritage Site since 2001.

Burgenland's specialities include National Park ham from Steppen cattle, organic tofu from the Seewinkel region, and Mangalitsa pork bacon. Organic farmer Josef Göltl is known for the latter. He farms heritage breeds of pigs and gives them plenty of exercise and affectionate petting. His Crema di Lardo is a must-have in every saddlebag.

Regional wines complement the specialities. The grapes of the Zweigelt thrive around the DAC region of Lake Neusiedl. In the Leithaberg region - located to the west of Lake Neusiedl and one of Josef Göltl's favourite places - grapes are ripening for red and white DAC wines. Zweigelt and Blaufränkisch vines line the eastern slopes of the Rosalia Mountains in the newest wine region. And Eisenberg in southern Burgenland is considered the most pristine wine country, with its white wines and Uhudler.

You can find even more inspiration for your culinary holidays at austria.info/kulinarik.

Biobetrieb Josef Göltl

Wien, Niederösterreich & Burgenland

Ein kulinarischer Tag

Nächster Halt: Wien

Kaffeehauskultur meets Urban Farming

In Wien gehört ein gemütlicher Spaziergang durch die Innenstadt einfach zum Lebensgefühl. Zwischen prachtvollen Palais und Gebäuden im Jugendstil flanieren, einen Halt im Naturhistorischen Museum oder der Hofburg einlegen, entspanntes Großstadtflair im Stadtpark schnuppern. Das ist Wien.

Die österreichische Hauptstadt vereint Traditionelles mit Modernem. Zum alteingesessenen Handwerk gehört in Wien die Kaffeehaus- und Mehlspeisenkultur: Hier gilt es, bei einer Kaffee-Spezialität wie der Melange oder der Maria Theresia (ein Kaffee mit Schlagsahne und Orangenlikör) Passanten zu beobachten und einen handgemachten Apfelstrudel zu genießen.

Zu Wien gehört aber auch eine ausgesprochene Weinliebe: Am Kahlen- oder Nussberg lässt sich der Ausblick über die Stadt bei einem fruchtigen Glas Wiener Gemischter Satz DAC bei einem der zahlreichen Heurigen am besten zelebrieren. Möchten Sie mehr über den Wiener Wein erfahren? Fragen Sie die Winzerinnen und Winzer vor Ort. Hier gehört ein gepflegter Plausch über Sorten, Boden und Geschichte zum guten Ton.

Food-Start-ups, innovative Köche und Köchinnen sowie spannende Pop-up-Restaurants lassen Wien bei jedem Besuch in einem neuen Licht scheinen.

Am Rande von Wien, im 22. Bezirk, produzieren vier junge Bauern frisches Gemüse und Fisch. Ob Tomaten aus der Grossstadt schmecken? Und wie! Wenn Ihnen eine Reise in den 22. Bezirk zu lang erscheint, lässt sich das Gemüse von Blün auch am trendigen Karmelitermarkt verkosten. Oder im Restaurant Labstelle im ersten Bezirk.

Das Team der Labstelle ist so stolz auf seine Lieferanten, dass sie diese nur zu gern vorstellen: Das Huhn kommt vom Lugitsch, der Fisch vom Moser, das Gemüse von Blün. Daraus werden dann mehrgängige Farm-to-Table-Menüs - mit kurzen Transportwegen und. Unbedingt vorher reservieren.

Nächster Halt: Niederösterreich

Alte Sorten, altes Handwerk

Ein Ausflug in die sanften Hügel Niederösterreichs gehört zum kulinarischen Entspannungsprogramm. Ausgedehnte Weinkultur mit Blick auf die Donau trifft hier auf blühende Mohnfelder und Marillenbäume. Und natürlich auf Menschen, die sich den niederösterreichischen Spezialitäten verschrieben haben.

Unbedingt probieren sollten Sie die Wachauer Marille. Saftige, fruchtige alte Sorten wurden unter dem Begriff zusammengefasst, der heute wie kaum etwas anderes zu der Region an der Donau gehört. Außer vielleicht der Wein, der in der Wachau aufgrund des besonderen Klimas hervorragend wächst.

Wer gerne Obst mag, erfrischt sich mit einem für die Region typischen Most, einem Getränk aus gegärtem Apfel- oder Birnensaft. Wissen und Genuss vermitteln Josef und Doris Farthofer in Öhling. In ihrer Mostelleria ermöglichen sie Neugierigen einen Blick hinter die Kulissen der Mostherstellung.

Für Fans des guten Geschmacks gibt es noch einen guten Grund mehr, in der Wachau Halt zu machen: Philipp Essl kredenzt im Landgasthaus Winzerstüberl klassische Wirthausküche zu Mittag und feinste Speisen am Abend. Dann weichen Grammelknödel, Beuschel und das Essl-Backhenderl von der Karte für das Kreativmenü des Küchenteams. Spargel und Mohn-Miso, Hafer und Maiwipferl werden zu Kompositionen, die die Gäste mit auf einen kulinarischen Kurzurlaub nehmen.

Rund 50 Kilometer weiter nordöstlich ist das Highlight für Foodies die Ölproduktion von Georg Gilli. Er hat sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, den Geschmack des Wein- und Waldviertels in Flaschen zu füllen. Dafür verwendet er ausschließlich Saatgut aus der direkten Umgebung und presst in kleinen Mengen Bio-Öle aus Leindotter, Hanf oder Leinsamen.

In der alten, nicht mehr genutzten Getreidemühle der Familie Gilli bietet der Ölmüller heute Führungen und Verkostungen an. Wer Inspiration braucht, wie die Bio-Öle am besten zu verwenden sind, bekommt direkt von Georg Gilli Tipps. Der Ölmüller mag besonders gerne den intensiven Geschmack nach grüner Erbse oder Spargel des Leindotteröls, das am besten nach dem Kochen die Speisen verfeinert.

Nächster Halt: Burgenland

Land der Sonne

Heiße Sommer und rund 300 Sonnentage im Jahr tragen dem Burgenland den schönen Beinamen ein - davon profitieren nicht nur die zahlreichen Wein- und Obstgärten.

Der Neusiedler See gilt als Sehnsuchtsort für Sonnenhungrige, Radfans und Wasserbegeisterte - ein Naturparadies inklusive Nationalpark. Allein 340 Vogelarten finden dort ihren artgeschützten Lebensraum. Auch zählt die Region seit 2001 zum UNESCO Weltkultur- und Naturerbe.

Zu den Spezialitäten des Burgenlandes zählen der Nationalparkschinken vom Steppenrind, Bio-Tofu aus dem Seewinkel oder Mangalitza-Schweinespeck. Für letzteren ist Bio-Bauer Josef Göltl bekannt. Er züchtet alte Schweinerassen, schenkt ihnen jede Menge Auslauf und liebevolle Streicheleinheiten. Seine Crema di Lardo gehört in jede Satteltasche.

Zur Begleitung der Spezialitäten gibt es regionale Weine. Um die DAC Region Neusiedler See gedeihen die Trauben des Zweigelts. In der Region des Leithabergs - im Westen des Neusiedler Sees und ein Lieblingsort von Josef Göltl - reifen die Früchte für rote und weiße DAC Weine. Im jüngsten Weingebiet, am Osthang des Rosaliagebirges, reihen sich die Weinstöcke von Zweigelt und Blaufränkischem. Und Eisenberg im Südburgenland, mit seinen Weißweinen und Uhudlern, gilt als ursprünglichstes Weinland.

Noch mehr Inspiration für Ihre kulinarischen Ferien finden Sie auf austria.info/kulinarik.