Restaurant Mangold

Tyrol & Vorarlberg

A culinary day

Next stop: Tyrol

From savoury dishes to hard cheese

Kaspressknödel (cheese dumplings) in soup, Tiroler Gröstl (Tyrolean bubble and squeak) with fried egg, followed by a wholesome brandy: in Tyrol, the savoury culinary delights of Alpine cuisine simply taste even better when paired with the altitude.

On the indulgent tours through Tyrol, foodies will discover fine specialities of Tyrolean cuisine: whether juicy Haiminger apples, Brandenberger Pruegeltorte or Kaunergrater goat's cheese. From cultivation to harvest and tasting: delightful hiking and cycling trails invite you to discover and marvel.

How about a hike through the Karwendel mountains to the Engalm, where a cheese-making dairy awaits onlookers? Or would you prefer to learn about the diversity and secrets of local fruit brandies on the Tyrolean Schnapps Route?

Tyrol also has a reputation for its signature Tyrolean bacon. Anton Juffinger is one of the custodians of the culinary heritage. His organic butcher's shop Juffinger is the place where those who like to get out and about can stock up for the next picnic or pick up some bacon and sausages as a souvenir for those at home. That's how you make friends the Tyrolean way!

Next stop: Vorarlberg

Regional delicacies

Be it a rustic alpine hut or a top-class restaurant: There is no wizardry here - the secret to the incomparable gastronomic experience lies only in the prized ingredients and the fresh ideas of the chefs. This also includes the Mangold Restaurant on Lake Constance.

This is where chef Michael and his wife Andrea serve fish from Lake Constance. Andrea also enjoys serving wines from different regions - from Burgundy to Burgenland. The high-quality food comes from farms and manufactories in the region. This way you can experience Vorarlberg with every bite of culinary delights.

Mountain cheese, cream cheese, sour cheese: cheese in all forms is typical of Vorarlberg cuisine. The Sura Kees is particularly special for the Montafon. This sour cheese was long considered a poor man's food and is now being rediscovered and celebrated thanks to farms like that of the Ganahl family.

The dishes Käsknöpfle (cheese noodles), cheese soup, Kässalot (cheese salad) and Bergkäse (mountain cheese) as an alpine snack are the culinary flagship of the state. For something sweet, the typical Riebel, a maize and wheat grits dish, is a real indulgence after an active day in the fresh mountain air. Not only does farmer Richard Dietrich make crisps and sweets from Riebel, but also light, nutty Riebel whisky.

You can find even more inspiration for your culinary holidays at austria.info/kulinarik.

Restaurant Mangold

Tirol & Vorarlberg

Ein kulinarischer Tag

Nächster Halt: Tirol

Von herzhaft bis Hartkäse

Kaspressknödel in der Suppe, Tiroler Gröstl mit Spiegelei und danach einen bekömmlichen Edelbrand: In Tirol schmeckt die herzhafte Kulinarik aus der Alpinen Küche ab einer bestimmten Höhe einfach nochmal so gut.

Auf den Genussrouten durch Tirol entdecken Feinspitze edle Spezialitäten der Tiroler Küche: ob saftige Haiminger Äpfel, Brandenberger Prügeltorte oder Kaunergrater Ziegenkäse. Vom Anbau bis zur Ernte und der Verkostung: Genuss-Wander- oder Radwege laden zum Entdecken und Staunen ein.

Wie wäre es mit einer Wanderung durch das Karwendelgebirge bis zur Engalm, wo eine Schaukäserei auf Schaulustige wartet? Oder erfahren Sie bei der Tiroler Schnapsroute lieber die Vielfalt und Geheimnisse der heimischen Obstbrände?

Für Tirol steht auch der typische Tiroler Speck. Einer der Bewahrer des kulinarischen Kulturguts ist Anton Juffinger. In seiner Bio-Metzgerei Juffinger können sich Bewegungsfreudige für das nächste Picknick ausrüsten oder Speck und Würste als Mitbringsel für Daheimgebliebene mitnehmen. So macht man sich Freunde auf Tirolerisch!

Nächster Halt: Vorarlberg

Regionale Gaumenfreuden

Ob urige Almhütte oder ein Restaurant der Spitzenklasse: Gezaubert wird hier nicht - nur die wertvollen Zutaten und die frischen Ideen der Köche sind das Geheimnis der unvergleichbaren Gastronomieszene. Dazu gehört auch das Restaurant Mangold am Bodensee.

Hier bringen Koch Michael und seine Frau Andrea Fisch aus dem Bodensee auf den Teller. Im Glas schenkt Andrea auch gerne mal überregionale Tropfen ins Glas - vom Burgund bis zum Burgenland. Die hochwertigen Lebensmittel stammen von Bauernhöfen und Manufakturen aus der Region. So kann man Vorarlberg mit jedem Bissen kulinarisch erfahren.

Bergkäse, Frischkäse, Sauerkäse: Typisch für die Vorarlberger Küche ist Käse in allen Formen. Besonders für das Montafon ist der Sura Kees. Der saure Käse galt lange als Arme-Leute-Speise und wird heute dank Betrieben wie dem von Familie Ganahl neu entdeckt und gefeiert.

Die Speisen Käsknöpfle (Käsespätzle), Käsesuppe, "Kässalot" (Käsesalat) oder Bergkäse zur Almjause sind das kulinarische Aushängeschild des Landes. Zur süßen Abwechslung verwöhnt der typische Riebel, ein Mais- und Weizengriesgericht, nach einem aktiven Tag an der frischen Bergluft. Aus Riebel macht Landwirt Richard Dietrich aber nicht nur Chips und Süsses, sondern leichten, nussigen Riebel-Whisky.

Noch mehr Inspiration für Ihre kulinarischen Ferien finden Sie auf austria.info/kulinarik.