Dinner am See

Carinthia & Styria

A culinary day

Next stop: Carinthia

Slow food

The state of Carinthia boasts crystal-clear lakes and an impressive mountain world. But it is also the state that places particularly high value on slow, conscious enjoyment.

It was not by chance that the Lesach, Gail and Gitsch valleys and Lake Weissensee became the world's first Slow Food Travel Destination. Gourmet artisans have always lived the slow food philosophy here. And in keeping with this spirit, they are happy to let you look over their shoulder and impart their knowledge. Catching your own fish or experimenting with Reindling recipes are just two examples of culinary excursions in Carinthia.

Carinthian cuisine is a mix of everything from home cooking to gourmet cuisine from the Alps to the Adriatic. Fresh fish from crystal-clear waters such as those at Lichtengraben Castle, asparagus from the Lavant Valley or Carinthian Kasnudeln (cheese noodles) are just a few of the delicacies on offer.

The latter enjoy a decades-long tradition, but are willingly elevated to new realms of flavour by innovative geniuses. Such as in the kitchen of Gipfelhaus Magdalensberg, where even grandma Marlene invented new fillings for the traditional dish 20 years ago.

Next stop: Styria

Between vineyards and gourmet kitchens

Styria is often referred to as the "delicatessen of Austria". And rightly so: from the alpine pastures to the vineyards in the south, west and east to the special crops, regional specialities are cherished and cultivated.

Styrian delicacies include baked chicken, pumpkin seed oil, runner beans and tasty products from winemakers and fruit growers. Styria is also the largest apple-growing region in Austria. Whether in the form of crunchy, sweet and sour table fruit, apple vinegar, cider or apple strudel served hot from the oven, apple country enriches Austrian cuisine.

Classics such as runner beans from Michaela Summer or apples from the traditional Schneeflock fruit farm are not the only things worth visiting Styria for. Chokeberries and pawpaws also grow here on account of the special soil. The Köck family is happy to provide you with more information during a guided tour of the special orchards. To finish off, have a sip of the chokeberry juice - it will boost your immune system.

The many chefs in Graz, the capital of culinary delights, invite you to get to know the city in an epicurean way. A culinary tour of the city of Graz is a special treat for the taste buds.

Get out into nature and enjoy the wine: When you know that taverns await you with their homemade specialities ranging from ham to runner bean salad, it is even easier to cycle through the vineyards of Styria on an e-bike.

You can find even more inspiration for your culinary holidays at austria.info/kulinarik.

Dinner am See

Kärnten & Steiermark

Ein kulinarischer Tag

Nächster Halt: Kärnten

Slow Food

Kärnten ist das Bundesland mit kristallklaren Seen und einer beeindruckenden Bergwelt. Aber es ist auch das Bundesland, in dem langsamem, bewusstem Genuss besonders viel Bedeutung geschenkt wird.

Das Lesach-, Gail- und Gitschtal sowie der Weissensee wurden nicht ohne Grund zur weltweit ersten Slow Food Travel Destination. Hier leben Genusshandwerkerinnen und -handwerker seit jeher die Slow Food-Philosophie. Und ganz in diesem Sinne lassen sie sich bei ihrer Handwerkskunst auch gern über die Schulter schauen und geben ihr Wissen weiter. Den eigenen Fisch angeln oder Reindling-Rezepte ausprobieren seien hier nur zwei Beispiele für einen kulinarischen Ausflugstipp in Kärnten.

Die Kärntner Küche mixt den Reichtum des Alpen-Adria-Raums von der Hausmannskost bis zur Haubenküche. Frischer Fisch aus glasklaren Gewässern wie vom Schloss Lichtengraben, Spargel aus dem Lavanttal oder Kärnter Kasnudeln sind nur einige der Schmankerln.

Letztere haben eine jahrzehnte lange Tradition, werden aber gerne von innovativen Genies in neue Sphären gehoben. Wie zum Beispiel in der Küche des Gipfelhaus Magdalensberg, wo schon Oma Marlene vor 20 Jahren neue Füllungen für das traditionelle Gericht erfand.

Nächster Halt: Steiermark

Zwischen Weinbergen und Genussküchen

Die Steiermark wird gerne als "Feinkostladen Österreichs" bezeichnet. Und das zu Recht: vom alpinen Grünland bis zu den Weinbergen im Süden, Westen und Osten bis zu den Spezialkulturen, werden regionale Spezialitäten gehegt und gepflegt.

Steirische Genuss-Aushängeschilder sind Backhendel, Kürbiskernöl, Käferbohnen und schmackhafte Erzeugnisse der Winzer und Obstbauern. Dazu ist die Steiermark das größte Apfelanbaugebiet Österreichs. Als knackig süßsaures Tafelobst, Apfelessig, Most oder ofenwarmer Apfelstrudel bereichert das Apfelland die österreichische Küche.

Nicht nur die Klassiker wie Käferbohnen von Michaela Summer oder Äpfel vom traditionellen Obstbetrieb Schneeflock sind eine Reise in die Steiermark wert. Hier wachsen aufgrund des besonderen Bodens auch Aroniabeeren oder Indianerbananen. Familie Köck gibt gerne Auskunft bei einer Führung durch die speziellen Obstgärten. Zum Abschluss gibt es einen Schluck des Aronia-Ursaftes - ein Boost für das Immunsystem.

Zahlreiche Küchenfeen der Genusshauptstadt Graz laden ein, die Stadt auf lukulllische Weise kennenzulernen. Bei einer kulinarischen Stadtführung bereitet der Halt in Graz besonders große Gaumenfreuden.

Raus in die Natur und rein ins Weinvergnügen: Wenn man weiss, dass Buschenschänke mit ihren selbstgemachten Spezialitäten vom Schinken bis zum Käferbohnensalat auf einen warten, fährt es sich noch leichter mit dem E-Bike durch die Weinberge der Steiermark.

Noch mehr Inspiration für Ihre kulinarischen Ferien finden Sie auf austria.info/kulinarik.