Long-distance travel

Overview here of all the main long-distance routes, along with practical information

Planning a journey in Austria or beyond? You will find an overview here of all the main long-distance routes, along with practical information on everything from the shortest journey times to the best prices to timetables.

Whether you’re travelling by ÖBB Railjet, Eurocity or Intercity - our long-distance trains will get you safely and comfortably to your destination. Choose the appropriate ticket class for your trip and enjoy your journey.

Vienna - St. Pölten - Linz - Salzburg

ÖBB Railjet trains run twice an hour from Vienna to Salzburg via St. Pölten and Linz, and the ÖBB Railjet fast service takes only 2 hours and 22 minutes to travel between Vienna and Salzburg. This service runs hourly and only makes two stops in St. Pölten and Linz. In addition, there is an hourly Railjet service between Vienna and Salzburg that stops at other major railway stations, where you can catch connections to many other regional destinations. These services calling at other major stations take 2 hours and 53 minutes for the Vienna - Salzburg route. The ÖBB Railjet will take you from Vienna to Linz in as little as 1 hour and 14 minutes.

This high-frequency service is supplemented by the ICE service, which goes to Linz and on into Germany. There are 6 ICE departures daily from Vienna Central Station to St. Pölten, Linz and on via Passau to numerous destinations in Germany.

Travel to Vienna International Airport by Railjet

ÖBB Railjet trains travel to Vienna International Airport via Vienna Meidling and Vienna Central Station twice an hour. The inclusion of Bregenz, Innsbruck, Salzburg, Linz and St. Pölten means ÖBB provides direct connections to Vienna International Airport from a total of five western Austrian state capitals. Travel time from Linz to Vienna International Airport is as little as 1 hour 41 minutes. You can also get to Vienna International Airport from Salzburg in 2 hours 49 minutes. ÖBB Railjet trains connect to Vienna International Airport every hour from Attnang-Puchheim, Vöcklabruck, Wels, St. Valentin, Amstetten and Tullnerfeld. In some cases it is necessary to change trains at Vienna Central Station. Two ÖBB Railjet services arrive at Vienna International Airport every hour.

The Austrian AIRrail or Rail&Fly Austria service enables tickets between Linz and Vienna Airport to be booked together with the connecting flight of the participating airline.

Vienna - Salzburg - Innsbruck - Bregenz

ÖBB Railjet services connect the Austrian capital of Vienna every hour with Wörgl, Landeck-Zams, Innsbruck and Vorarlberg via Salzburg. Services travel to Kufstein, Jenbach, Ötztal, Imst-Pitztal, St. Anton am Arlberg and Langen am Arlberg every 2 hours. Travel time from Vienna to Innsbruck by ÖBB Railjet starts at 4 hours 14 minutes, and from Vienna to Bregenz at 6 hours 47 minutes.

An additional Railjet service runs daily on the slower Railjet line via Salzburg to Innsbruck and Bregenz, and enables direct connections from e.g. Amstetten and Wels to Western Austria

Anyone preferring to sleep through the journey between Eastern and Western Austria so as to be able to make full use of their day of arrival can take the ÖBB Nightjet, which runs every night between Vienna and Bregenz. This service also allows you to take your car or your motorbike with you on the train for journeys between Vienna and Feldkirch.

Travel directly to Vienna International Airport with Railjet

ÖBB Railjet trains take you to Vienna International Airport via Vienna Meidling and Vienna Central Station twice an hour. In some cases it is necessary to change trains at Vienna Central Station. The inclusion of Bregenz, Innsbruck, Salzburg, Linz and St. Pölten means ÖBB provides direct connections to Vienna International Airport from a total of five western Austrian state capitals. Travel time from Innsbruck to Vienna International Airport is only 4 hours 40 minutes.

Vienna - Klagenfurt - Villach - Lienz

The ÖBB Railjet and Eurocity services will take you from Vienna via Klagenfurt to Villach and back every 2 hours. The ÖBB Railjet covers the distance between Vienna Central Station and Klagenfurt in 3 hours 58 minutes.

In the south of Austria, a veritable sea of clean, warm swimming lakes awaits you in the centre of the Southern Alps. Mountains ranging from mighty three-thousand-metre giants to gentle peaks, and from whose summits you can enjoy magnificent views of the region’s unique diversity.

Once a day there is a direct Railjet service beyond Carinthia to Lienz and a direct Eurocity service to Venice.

Vienna - Mürzzuschlag - Bruck a.d. Mur - Graz

The ÖBB Railjet will take you every hour from Vienna Central Station to Graz in 2 hours 38 minutes (2 hours 30 minutes from Vienna Meidling). A direct Railjet service runs every two hours from Prague or Vienna International Airport via Vienna to Graz. Twice a day in place of the ÖBB Railjet, international Eurocity services run beyond Styria and on to Zagreb and Ljubljana.

There are intermediate stops at Vienna Meidling, Wiener Neustadt, Mürzzuschlag, Kapfenberg and Bruck an der Mur. Some ÖBB Railjet services and one Eurocity per day also stop at Semmering, enabling you to travel several times a day from Vienna to the UNESCO World Heritage Site around the Semmering railway in only 1 hour 12 minutes.

Even better connections to Vienna International Airport from the South

Since December 2016, there have been 6 direct, daily connections for passengers travelling between Vienna International Airport and Graz, Bruck/Mur, Kapfenberg or Mürzzuschlag. In addition, there are straightforward connections every hour from Vienna Central Station - mostly from the same platform. The journey time from Graz to Vienna International Airport is 2 hours 59 minutes.

Graz - Salzburg/ Innsbruck/ Linz

You can travel directly from Graz to Salzburg or in the opposite direction five times a day by Eurocity or Intercity. With two further highly convenient connecting services, trains run between Graz and Salzburg every two hours. Two Eurocitys provide a direct service daily via Salzburg between Graz and Frankfurt am Main or Saarbrücken.

You can also travel from Graz to Innsbruck by Intercity during the day. Moreover, the Eurocity 163/164 (Transalpin), which terminates in Zurich, will take you from Graz via Innsbruck directly to Switzerland. This train gives you the opportunity to travel in its (first class) panoramic coach through the Alps via Schladming, Zell am See and Kitzbühel to Zurich and enjoy the magnificent mountain scenery from the comfort of the train.

You can also sleep through the stretch from Graz via Bischofshofen and Innsbruck to Zurich: travelling by the ÖBB night train, you’ll arrive refreshed at your destination the next morning. And on journeys between Graz and Feldkirch you can also take your car or motorbike with you.

There are direct trains between Graz and Linz twice a day by Intercity, and additional connecting services (REX trains between Selzthal and Linz) mean there is a service every two hours.

Salzburg - Villach - Klagenfurt

Eurocity and Intercity trains run between Salzburg and Klagenfurt every two hours.

The Tauernbahn route also takes you beyond the borders of Austria to destinations in Germany. Eurocity services thus provide direct connections to Bavaria (Munich), North Rhine-Westphalia (Dortmund) and Saarland (Saarbrücken). And vice versa: Eurocity trains run from Germany via Salzburg and Villach to the most southerly state in Austria, and on further to Ljubljana and Zagreb.

In the south of Austria, a veritable sea of clean, warm swimming lakes awaits you in the centre of the Southern Alps. Mountains ranging from mighty three-thousand-metre giants to gentle peaks, and from whose summits you can enjoy magnificent views of the region’s unique diversity.

Graz - Klagenfurt

From Graz to Klagenfurt or back again in just two hours? ÖBB also gets you comfortably to destinations not served by rail. The ÖBB Intercitybus departs 14 times a day and offers the quality and standard of service that you would expect from ÖBB trains.

Generous and comfortable seating in both the 1st and 2nd class, and WCs and air conditioning, guarantee you an enjoyable journey. In the 1st class, you can expect elegant leather seats, working areas and power points, as well as free newspapers and drinks. ÖBB Intercitybus fares are equivalent to train ticket prices.

How to get your ticket: Your trip on the ÖBB Intercitybus costs the same as the rail fare. Tickets are available from the ÖBB ticket shop, the ÖBB app, ÖBB customer services on +43 (0)5 1717, and at ÖBB ticket counters.

Fernreisen in Österreich

Ein Überblick über die wichtigsten Fernreiselinien und praktische Informationen für Ihre Reise.

Sie planen eine Reise durch Österreich oder noch weiter? Hier finden Sie einen Überblick über die wichtigsten Fernreiselinien und praktische Informationen von der kürzesten Reisezeit über das günstigste Angebot bis hin zu Linienfahrplänen.

Ob ÖBB Railjet, Eurocity oder Intercity - unsere Fernreisezüge bringen Sie sicher und komfortabel an Ihr Ziel. Wählen Sie die passende Wagenklasse für Ihren Reisezweck und genießen die Zeit während der Fahrt.

Wien - St. Pölten - Linz - Salzburg

Mit dem ÖBB Railjet können Sie zweimal pro Stunde von Wien Hauptbahnhof und Wien Meidling über St. Pölten und Linz nach Salzburg fahren. Für die Strecke zwischen Wien und Salzburg benötigen Sie im schnellen ÖBB Railjet nur 2h 22min. Diese Verbindungen mit nur zwei Zwischenhalten in St. Pölten und Linz werden stündlich angeboten. Zusätzlich besteht zwischen Wien und Salzburg ein Railjet-Stundentakt mit Halten an weiteren Knotenbahnhöfen, wo Sie zahlreiche Anschlüsse in interessante Urlaubsregionen wie beispielsweise das Salzkammergut haben. Diese Züge mit Halt in wichtigen Knotenbahnhöfen wie Attnang-Puchheim (Anschluss nach Bad Ischl und Hallstatt) oder St. Valentin (Anschluss nach Steyr) benötigen für die Strecke Wien-Salzburg nur 2h 53min. Von Wien nach Linz gelangen Sie im ÖBB Railjet in ab 1h 14min.

Das dichte Angebot wird durch den ICE nach Linz und weiter nach Deutschland ergänzt. Täglich fahren 6 ICE-Züge von Wien Hauptbahnhof nach Linz und weiter über Passau nach Regensburg, Nürnberg, Würzburg, Frankfurt und in weitere Städte Deutschlands. ICE Direktverbindungen gibt es von Wien auch nach Köln, Hannover oder Hamburg.

Tipp: Mit Railjet direkt zum Flughafen Wien!

Zweimal pro Stunde fahren ÖBB Railjets der Weststrecke über Wien Meidling und Wien Hauptbahnhof zum Flughafen Wien. Damit binden die ÖBB mit Bregenz, Innsbruck, Salzburg, Linz und St. Pölten gleich fünf Landeshauptstädte der Weststrecke direkt an den Wiener Flughafen an. Die Fahrzeit zwischen Linz und dem Flughafen Wien beträgt nur mehr ab 1h 41min. Auch von Salzburg ist man ab 2h 49min am Wiener Flughafen. Attnang-Puchheim, Vöcklabruck, Wels, St. Valentin, Amstetten und Tullnerfeld werden stündlich mit den ÖBB Railets angebunden. Bei manchen Verbindungen ist ein Umstieg in Wien Hbf notwendig. Pro Stunde kommen zwei ÖBB Railjets am Wiener Flughafen an. Mit dem Angebot AIRail lassen sich die Zugstrecken Salzburg - Flughafen Wien und Linz - Flughafen Wien gemeinsam mit dem Anschlussflug bei Austrian Airlines buchen.

Wien - Salzburg - Innsbruck - Bregenz

Der ÖBB Railjet verbindet die Bundeshauptstadt Wien jede Stunde mit Wörgl, Landeck-Zams, Innsbruck und Vorarlberg über Salzburg. Die Halte Kufstein, Jenbach (Umstieg zum Achensee und ins Zillertal), Ötztal, Imst-Pitztal, St. Anton am Arlberg und Langen am Arlberg werden alle 2 Stunden bedient. Die Reisezeit von Wien nach Innsbruck beträgt im ÖBB Railjet ab 4h 14min, von Wien nach Bregenz ab 6h 47min.

Als Ergänzung verkehrt täglich ein Railjet der langsameren Railjet Linie über Salzburg weiter nach Innsbruck und Bregenz und ermöglicht so auch Direktverbindungen von z.B. Amstetten oder Wels nach Westösterreich.

Wer die Strecke zwischen dem Osten und dem Westen Österreichs im Schlaf überbrücken möchte, um den Tag vor Ort voll nutzen zu können, kann in den ÖBB Nightjet steigen, der Nacht für Nacht zwischen Wien und Bregenz unterwegs ist. Dabei können Sie zwischen Wien und Feldkirch auch Ihr Auto oder Motorrad auf dem Zug mitnehmen.

Tipp: Mit dem Railjet direkt zum Flughafen Wien!

Zweimal pro Stunde gelangt man mit ÖBB Railjets der Weststrecke über Wien Meidling und Wien Hauptbahnhof zum Flughafen Wien. Bei manchen Verbindungen ist ein Umstieg in Wien Hbf notwendig. Damit binden die ÖBB mit Bregenz, Innsbruck, Salzburg, Linz und St. Pölten gleich fünf Landeshauptstädte der Weststrecke direkt an den Wiener Flughafen an. Von Innsbruck beträgt die Reisezeit zum Wiener Flughafen nur 4h 40min.

Wien - Klagenfurt - Villach - Lienz

Mit dem ÖBB Railjet oder dem Intercity können Sie alle 2 Stunden von Wien über Klagenfurt nach Villach und retour fahren. Dabei legt der ÖBB Railjet die Strecke zwischen Wien Hauptbahnhof und Klagenfurt in 3h 55min zurück.

Im Süden Österreichs erwartet Sie ein Meer von sauberen, warmen Badeseen inmitten der südlichen Alpen. Berge, die von mächtigen Dreitausendern bis hin zu sanften Nocken reichen und auf deren Gipfeln man die Blicke schweifen lässt - über ein Land, das eine einzigartige Vielfalt in sich vereint.

Einmal täglich gibt es über Kärnten hinaus einen direkten Intercity-Zug nach Lienz und zwei direkte Railjet-Züge nach Venedig.

Wien - Mürzzuschlag - Bruck/Mur - Graz

Jede Stunde bringt Sie der ÖBB Railjet vom Wiener Hauptbahnhof in 2h 35min (2h 28min ab Wien Meidling) nach Graz. Der Railjet fährt alle zwei Stunden direkt von Prag oder Flughafen Wien über Wien und die wunderschöne Semmeringbahn (UNESCO Weltkulturerbe) nach Graz. Zwei Mal täglich verkehren anstelle des ÖBB Railjet internationale Eurocities, die über die Steiermark hinaus weiter nach Zagreb und Ljubljana fahren.

Zwischenhalte werden in Wien Meidling, Wr. Neustadt, Mürzzuschlag, Kapfenberg und Bruck an der Mur angeboten. Einige ÖBB Railjets sowie täglich ein Eurocity halten auch am Semmering, so dass Sie die zum Unesco-Welterbe zählende Region um die Semmeringbahn von Wien aus mehrmals am Tag in nur 1h 09min erreichen.

Tipp: Aus dem Süden noch komfortabler zum Wiener Airport

Für Reisende aus Graz, Bruck/Mur, Kapfenberg und Mürzzuschlag werden täglich 6 Direktverbindungen je Richtung von zum Flughafen Wien angeboten. Ergänzend gibt es stündliche Verbindungen mit bequemem Umstieg in Wien Hauptbahnhof - meist am gleichen Bahnsteig. Die Fahrzeit von Graz  zum Flughafen Wien beträgt ab 2h 59min.

Graz - Salzburg/ Innsbruck/ Linz

Fünf Mal täglich können Sie mit einem Eurocity oder Intercity direkt von Graz nach Salzburg oder in die Gegenrichtung fahren. Ergänzt wird das Angebot durch zwei ideale Umsteigeverbindungen, wodurch sich ein 2-Stunden-Takt zwischen Graz und Salzburg ergibt. Zwei Eurocitys bieten Ihnen täglich über Salzburg hinaus eine direkte Reisemöglichkeit von Graz bis nach Frankfurt/Main bzw. Saarbrücken.

Von Graz nach Innsbruck können Sie tagsüber direkt mit dem Intercity fahren. Der Eurocity 163/164 (Transalpin) mit Endstation Zürich bringt Sie zudem von Graz über Innsbruck direkt in die Schweiz. In diesem Zug können Sie auch im Panoramawagen (1. Klasse) quer durch die Alpen über Schladming, Zell am See und Kitzbühel nach Zürich reisen und dabei die herrliche Bergwelt der Alpen bereits aus dem Zug genießen!

Die Strecke von Graz über Bischofshofen und Innsbruck nach Zürich können Sie aber auch im Schlaf zurücklegen: Mit dem ÖBB Nachtreisezug kommen Sie am Morgen ausgeruht am Ziel an. Und zwischen Graz und Feldkirch haben Sie zudem die Möglichkeit, Ihr Auto oder Motorrad mitzunehmen.

Zwischen Graz und Linz können Sie zwei Mal täglich direkt mit dem Intercity fahren, zusätzliche Umsteigeverbindungen (mit REX zwischen Selzthal und Linz) ergänzen das Angebot zu einem 2h-Takt.

Salzburg - Villach - Klagenfurt

Alle 2 Stunden verbinden Eurocitys, Intercitys oder Railjets Salzburg und Klagenfurt über die schöne Tauernbahn über Bad Gastein direkt miteinander.

Über die Grenzen Österreichs hinaus lassen sich auf der Tauernbahn auch Ziele in Deutschland bestens erreichen. So schließen Eurocitys Kärnten direkt an Bayern (München), Nordrhein-Westfalen (Köln, Dortmund) und das Saarland (Saarbrücken) an. Umgekehrt fahren Eurocitys von Deutschland über Salzburg und Villach in Österreichs südlichstes Bundesland und darüber hinaus weiter nach Ljubljana und Zagreb.

Im Süden Österreichs erwartet Sie ein Meer von sauberen, warmen Badeseen inmitten der südlichen Alpen. Berge, die von mächtigen Dreitausendern bis hin zu sanften Nocken reichen und auf deren Gipfeln man die Blicke schweifen lässt - über ein Land, das eine einzigartige Vielfalt in sich vereint.

Graz - Klagenfurt

In nur 2 Stunden von Graz nach Klagenfurt oder zurück? Die ÖBB bringen Sie auch abseits der Schiene bequem ans Ziel. Der ÖBB Intercitybus startet 14 Mal täglich mit dem Service und der Qualität, die Sie aus den Zügen der ÖBB gewohnt sind.

Großzügiger Sitzkomfort in der 1. und 2. Klasse, WC und Klimaanlage garantieren Ihnen eine komfortable Reise. In der 1. Klasse erwarten Sie zusätzlich elegante Ledersitze, Arbeitsflächen und Steckdosen sowie ein gratis Zeitungs- und Getränkeangebot. Mit dem ÖBB Intercitybus reisen Sie zum Bahntarif und mit dem Bahnticket.