ÖBB hydrogen train on open track

Hydrogen Train "Coradia iLint"

ÖBB test out the new hydrogen train during its first ever passenger service.

ÖBB test operation with passengers successfully completed

Alternative drive technologies are the only way to the climate-friendly mobility of the future. This is why ÖBB were testing a hydrogen train made by Alstom in regular passenger service.

The train had to prove its worth in particular on secondary lines that are not intended for electrification. From 12 September until 26 November, the hydrogen train was tested in southern parts of Lower Austria on the inner and outer Aspangbahn railway line as well as on the line between Wiener Neustadt and Puchberg or Gutenstein. After these three months of testing, ÖBB are very satisfied with the hydrogen train and the test run.

Passengers did not only benefit from safe but also from clean technology during the trial operation: In contrast to a diesel train, the hydrogen train produces no local CO₂ emissions when operated. Furthermore, the hydrogen train is significantly quieter in operation than the diesel multiple-unit trains that normally run on the lines.

Tested on geographically demanding routes

Up to now, hydrogen trains have mainly been used on flat routes in Northern Germany and the Netherlands. By testing on geographically demanding, alpine routes in the southern parts of Lower Austria, the hydrogen train was now being put through its paces for the first time - and the train completed these routes with ease.

More on this...

Vehicle manufacturer

ALSTROM

Our partners

AIT Austrian Institute of Technology HyCentA Hydrogen Center Austria Klima Energie Fonds Shift2Rail Verbund

Testing a complete system

A mobile hydrogen filling station was also built on ÖBB premises in Wiener Neustadt during the test phase - this means that, in addition to passenger operation, ÖBB were testing a complete system including vehicle maintenance and hydrogen supply.

The project was supported by Klima- und Energiefonds and Shift2Rail Joint Undertaking. VERBUND AG was responsible for the green certification of the hydrogen used. A scientific study by the Austrian Institute of Technology (AIT) and HyCentA will provide a basis for decision-making concerning the next steps in the coming months.

ÖBB Wasserstoffzug auf freier Strecke

Wasserstoffzug "Coradia iLint"

ÖBB testen Wasserstoffzug erstmals im Fahrgastbetrieb.

ÖBB-Testbetrieb mit Fahrgästen erfolgreich abgeschlossen

Für eine klimafreundliche Mobilität der Zukunft führt an alternativen Antriebstechnologien kein Weg vorbei: Im Pionierprojekt Wasserstoffzug haben die ÖBB deshalb einen Wasserstofftriebzug des Herstellers Alstom im regulären Fahrgastbetrieb getestet. Bewähren musste sich der Zug vor allem auf Nebenbahnen, die nicht für eine Elektrifizierung vorgesehen sind. Der Wasserstoffzug war von 12. September bis 26. November im südlichen Niederösterreich auf der inneren und äußeren Aspangbahn sowie auf der Strecke zwischen Wiener Neustadt und Puchberg bzw. Gutenstein unterwegs. Mit dem Wasserstoffzug und dem Ablauf des Testbetriebs zeigen sich die ÖBB sehr zufrieden.

Die Fahrgäste profitierten im Probebetrieb neben einer sicheren auch von einer sauberen Technologie: Im Gegensatz zu einem Dieseltriebzug entstehen beim Betrieb des Wasserstoffzugs keine lokalen CO₂ Emissionen. Zudem ist der Wasserstoffzug im Betrieb deutlich leiser als die sonst auf den Strecken verkehrenden Dieseltriebzüge.

Bewährungsprobe auf geographisch anspruchsvollen Strecken

Bisher waren Wasserstoffzüge vor allem auf flachen Strecken in Norddeutschland und den Niederlanden im Einsatz. Durch den Test auf geographisch anspruchsvollen Strecken im Süden von Niederösterreich wurde der Wasserstoffzug nun erstmals so richtig auf Herz und Nieren geprüft - und er absolvierte diese Strecken souverän.

Mehr dazu...

Fahrzeughersteller

ALSTROM

Unsere Partner

AIT Austrian Institute of Technology HyCentA Hydrogen Center Austria Klima Energie Fonds Shift2Rail Verbund

Test eines Komplettsystems

Neben dem Einsatz im Fahrgastbetrieb wurde für den Zeitraum der Testphase auch eine mobile Wasserstoff-Tankstelle auf dem ÖBB Betriebsgelände in Wiener Neustadt errichtet - die ÖBB testeten somit ein Komplettsystem inklusive Fahrzeuginstandhaltung und Wasserstoffversorgung.

Unterstützt wurde das Projekt vom Klima- und Energiefonds sowie dem Shift2Rail Joint Undertaking. Die VERBUND AG übernahm die Grünzertifizierung des verwendeten Wasserstoffs. Eine begleitende wissenschaftliche Studie des Austrian Institute of Technology (AIT) und HyCentA wird in den kommenden Monaten Entscheidungsgrundlagen für nächste Schritte bringen.