Linz Central Station will become the central transport hub for the new S-Bahn system in Upper Austria. In the future, five S-Bahn lines will offer optimal connections into the central region of Upper Austria. In December of 2016, the S-Bahn will be introduced in a first roll-out phase on ÖBB's main transport routes Summerauerbahn (Pregarten - Linz Central Station) and Pyhrnbahn (Kirchdorf a. d. Krems - Linz Central Station), as well as on the Western Route (Wels Central Station - Linz Central Station - Garsten and Steyr - St. Valentin - Linz Central Station) as well as the Linzer Lokalbahn (Eferding - Linz Hbf).

This will significantly improve the offering for tens of thousands of commuters in the central region of Upper Austria.