The Danube Bike Trail is one of Austria’s most well-known and beautiful bicycle trails. The Danube Radtramper (bike train) takes you to Passau or the Wachau, from where you can start your bicycle excursion.

ÖBB’s special train for all cycling fans operates daily from 1 May through 26 October 2016, offering room for 75 bicycles. This allows passengers to load up their bicycles themselves, in some cases take a seat where they can keep an eye on them, and unload them again at their destination. Two ÖBB Regio Biking bicycle compartments will offer the so-called diagonal parking configuration, which allows you to park your bicycle in the car in a space-saving and effortless manner. With their new exterior design featuring summerly bicycle motives, these bicycle cars are easily noticeable to all passengers waiting on the platform.
If you want to travel on the “Danube Radtramper” and take your bicycle along, you will need a valid ticket for yourself, as well as for your bicycle. These bicycle tickets are available as daily, weekly or monthly tickets.

It is strongly recommended to reserve bicycle spaces on the REX 5914: the costs are 3.50 euros per bicycle space, and they can be booked until 6:00 a.m. on the day for travel at the ÖBB ticket counters or via the ÖBB customer service at 05-1717. At these service points, you can also make a free seat reservation for groups of 10 persons or more.

Pricing examples for bicycle tickets per direction:
Wien Franz-Josefs-Bahnhof - Melk € 2.30
Wien Franz-Josefs-Bahnhof - Passau Hbf € 5.30
St. Pölten Hbf - Melk € 2.-
St. Pölten Hbf - Passau Hbf € 4.40
Linz Hbf - Passau Hbf € 2.30
Wels Hbf - Passau Hbf € 2.-
Timetable extract for the Danube Radtramper
REX 5914StationREX 5927
 07:23 Wien Franz-Josefs-Bahnhof  22:35
 07:30 Wien Heiligenstadt  22:29
 07:39 Klosterneuburg-Kierling  22:21
 07:57 Tulln/Donau  22:05
 08:03 Tulln Stadt  22:00
 08:26 Traismauer  21:36
 08:41 Herzogenburg  21:27
 08:55 St. Pölten Hbf.  21:18
 09:11 Melk  20:48
 09:20 Pöchlarn  20:39
 09:31 Ybbs/Donau  20:28
 09:45 Amstetten  20:15
 10:12 St. Valentin  19:48
 10:38 Linz Hbf.  19:25
 10:54 Wels Hbf.  19:05
 11:04 Bad Schallerbach-Wallern  18:52
 11:16 Neumarkt-Kallham  18:35
 11:41 Schärding  18:00
 11:55 Passau Hbf.  17:45