ÖBB offers different channels for you to purchase your ticket. You decide yourself how you want to book your journey:

  • Your quickest option for buying a ticket is online or mobile via our ÖBB App.
  • Another option is at the ÖBB ticket vending machines. Here, you also benefit from the self-booking discount for Vorteilstickets (discounted tickets).
  • If you need assistance for your booking, please get in touch with the ÖBB customer service at +43 (0)5 1717 or go to one of the ÖBB ticket counters or ÖBB travel agencies.

Buying tickets from our travel consultants

Our travel consultants will be glad to assist you. They can sell tickets, make seat reservations for you and provide you with any information you may need for your journey. Make the most of this personal service - throughout Austria at more than 90 travel centres located at ÖBB train stations.

Tickets for first class and business class are also available at our exclusive ÖBB Lounges. With a first-class ticket, you are welcome to wait for your train in these lounges - free snacks and drinks, magazines and Wi-Fi included.

Buying tickets from our train attendants

You did not have the time to buy your train ticket before starting your journey? On long-distance trains, you can also buy your tickets directly from your train attendant. Warning: for on-board ticket purchases, an additional service fee of 3 Euro is charged.

For self-service routes using regional transport, you need to buy your ticket before starting your journey. Tickets can only be bought from the train team in exceptional cases - if there is no ticket vending machine or ticket counter at the station where you boarded the train.

Buying tickets for ÖBB regional trains

On the ÖBB trains for local transport - regional train, regional express and S-Bahn - we offer a self-service model. For you as a passenger, this means: you need to buy a valid ticket for your trip before boarding the train.

Did you board the train without a ticket?

Boarding a train without a train ticket is only allowed at stations where there is no ÖBB ticket vending machine or ÖBB ticket counter. In this case, please buy your ticket immediately after boarding the train at the ticket vending machine (located at one end of the train) or contact the team of train attendants as soon as possible.

Hint

Which stations have a vending machine or a ticket counter?

Click on station information in the online services. Then, select one station. Under "Equipment", you will find information about ticket counters and opening hours, as well as ticket vending machines and their locations.

Tip

Information events on ticket vending machines

We will be glad to assist you in operating our ticket vending machines. For interested groups, individual appointments can be made on site at train stations or subway stops. Contact form.

Die ÖBB bieten Ihnen verschiedene Kanäle für den Ticketkauf an. Sie entscheiden selbst, wie Sie Ihre Reise buchen:                                          

  • Am raschsten funktioniert der Ticketkauf online oder mobile mit der ÖBB App.
  • Genauso rasch funktioniert es aber am Bahnhof an den ÖBB Ticketautomaten. Hier profitieren Sie auch vom Selbstbucherbonus für Vorteilstickets.
  • Wer bei der Buchung persönliche Beratung braucht, wendet sich an das ÖBB Kundenservice unter +43 (0)5 1717, die ÖBB Ticketschalter oder die ÖBB Reisebüros.

Ticketkauf bei unseren Reiseberater/innen

Gerne stehen Ihnen unsere Reiseberater/innen zur Seite. Sie verkaufen Tickets, nehmen Platzreservierungen entgegen und informieren Sie rund um Ihre Reise. Nutzen Sie dieses persönliche Service - österreichweit in mehr als 90 Reisezentren in ÖBB Bahnhöfen.

Tickets für die 1. Klasse und die Business Class bekommen Sie auch in unseren exklusiven ÖBB Lounges. Mit Ihrem Ticket für die 1. Klasse können Sie sich hier die Zeit bis zur Zugfahrt verkürzen - inklusive kostenlosen Snacks und Getränken, Zeitschriften sowie WLAN.

Ticketkauf bei unserem Zugteam

Sie hatten vor Ihrer Reise keine Zeit, um sich um Ihr Zugticket zu kümmern? In Fernverkehrszügen können Sie dieses auch direkt bei dem/der Zugbegleiter/in erwerben. Achtung: Für den Ticketkauf im Zug fällt zusätzlich eine Servicegebühr von 3 Euro an.

Für Selbstbedienungsstrecken im Nahverkehr müssen Sie Ihr Ticket bereits vor dem Fahrtantritt kaufen. Der Erwerb beim Zugteam ist nur in Ausnahmefällen möglich - wenn es in der Zustiegsstation keinen Ticketautomaten und keine Ticketschalter gibt.

Ticketkauf für ÖBB Nahverkehrszüge

In den ÖBB Nahverkehrszügen - Regionalzug, Regionalexpress und S-Bahn - setzen wir auf Selbstbedienung. Für Sie als Fahrgast bedeutet das: Sie müssen bereits vor dem Zustieg ein gültiges Ticket für Ihre Fahrt kaufen.

Sie sind ohne Ticket zugestiegen?

Nur in Stationen, in denen es keinen ÖBB Ticketautomaten und keine ÖBB Ticketschalter gibt, ist der Zustieg ohne Zugticket erlaubt. Kaufen Sie in diesem Fall bitte umgehend nach dem Einsteigen ein Ticket beim Ticketautomaten (an einem Ende des Zuges) oder suchen Sie so rasch wie möglich das Zugteam auf.

Hinweis

Welche Station hat einen Automaten oder eine Personenkasse?

Klicken Sie in den Online-Services auf Stationsinformation. Wählen Sie nun eine Station, bekommen Sie unter „Ausstattung“ Informationen über Personenkassen und Öffnungszeiten sowie Ticketautomaten und deren Standorte.

Tipp

Informationsveranstaltungen zu Ticketautomaten

Gerne unterstützen wir Sie bei der Bedienung unserer Ticketautomaten. Für interessierte Gruppen können individuelle Termine vor Ort in Bahnhöfen und Stationen vereinbart werden: Kontaktformular.