You can simply purchase your ticket at an ÖBB ticket vending machine prior to your journey. For this, approximately 1,000 machines are located at train stations throughout Austria. Mobile devices are provided on trains marked accordingly. Apart from being able to purchase your ticket very quickly, you also benefit from a self-booking bonus for Vorteilstickets.

These tickets are available at ÖBB ticket vending machines

At our ticket vending machines, you can purchase tickets for ÖBB as well as many Austrian private railways. With the information you enter, you select the tariff offer yourself. At the machines, the same discounts apply as for the ÖBB ticket shop(including group discounts). Regional fares are also taken into account. It is furthermore possible to purchase tickets ahead of time.

How to pick up tickets ordered previously

You can order your tickets and reservations from the ÖBB customer service at +43 (0)5 1717 and then pick them up at an ÖBB ticket vending machine. This pick-up service is available for all tickets which can be purchased by telephone - including international tickets and reservations.

Do you have any further questions?

For questions or complaints, you can reach the ÖBB customer service anytime at +43 (0)5 1717. Local rates apply from anywhere in Austria. A four-digit machine number is posted on each ticket vending machine, on the right-hand side in the middle, immediately below the slot for inserting banknotes. In the event of a query, please provide this number.

The types of payment

At the ÖBB ticket vending machines, you can pay cash, with an ATM card (Maestro) or by credit card (VISA, Diners Club, MasterCard, American Express and JCB).

The machine takes 10 , 20  and 50 cent coins, as well as 1 and 2 euro coins. You can also pay with 5, 10, 20, 50 and 100 euro banknotes.

For non-cash payments, a receipt will be printed in addition to your ticket.

The machine can only give change in coins. Because of this, minimum amounts apply to cash payments with banknotes: 20 euro banknotes can be used for amounts above 11 euros, 50 euro banknotes above 41 euros and 100 euro banknotes above 91 euros. The permissible banknotes are displayed according to the invoice amount.

Using the ticket vending machines

The ÖBB ticket vending machines can be used in 9 different languages. Please select between German, English, French, Italian, Croatian, Slovak, Slovenian, Czech and Hungarian.

How to operate the machines

  • ÖBB ticket vending machines are equipped with a touchscreen surface. Simply touch the light (yellow) fields on the surface and enter your destination, as well as your departure station, if necessary. The machine will guide you to your desired ticket.
  • Fields highlighted in white show preselections or specifications which speed up the purchase process. You can change any preselection at any time by touching the yellow fields.
  • With the "Step back" button (orange), you can undo the last entry. If you want to cancel the purchase process, simply touch the field "Restart" (dark red). This deletes all entries.
  • If certain products are not available or if certain specifications are not possible, you will receive an according on-screen notification. Once you have read it, press the "OK" field (blue).
  • By touching the green field, you confirm all entries on a screen bar.
  • If you wish to pay by ATM card (Maestro card), you will be asked to enter your PIN code. Follow the instructions on the display on the right-hand side next to the keypad.
  • You will receive your tickets as well as your change through the ticket tray on the bottom left-hand side. For all non-cash payments, a payment receipt will automatically be printed, as well.
  • Please remove the tickets and any change you may have received, and check them immediately.

Lösen Sie Ihr Ticket einfach vor der Fahrt an den ÖBB Ticketautomaten. Dafür stehen Ihnen österreichweit rund 1.000 Automaten in Bahnhöfen und mobile Geräte in gekennzeichneten Zügen zur Verfügung. Neben dem schnellen Ticketkauf profitieren Sie vom Selbstbucherbonus für Vorteilstickets.

Diese Tickets bekommen Sie am ÖBB Ticketautomaten

An unseren Ticketautomaten erhalten Sie Tickets für die ÖBB und viele Privatbahnen innerhalb Österreichs. Mit Ihren Angaben wählen Sie das Tarifangebot selbst aus. An den Automaten gelten dieselben Ermäßigungen wie bei der Onlinebuchung (inklusive Gruppenermäßigung). Auch Verbundtarife werden berücksichtigt. Zudem ist der Kauf von Tickets im Vorverkauf möglich.

So holen Sie bestellte Tickets ab

Sie können Ihre Tickets und Reservierungen beim ÖBB Kundenservice unter +43 (0)5 1717 bestellen und an einem ÖBB Ticketautomaten ausdrucken. Dieses Abholservice steht für alle telefonisch bestellbaren Tickets - auch internationale Tickets und Reservierungen - zur Verfügung.

Sie haben noch Fragen?

Für Fragen oder Reklamationen steht Ihnen jederzeit das ÖBB Kundenservice unter +43 (0)5 1717 österreichweit zum Ortstarif zur Seite. Jeder Ticketautomat hat rechts in der Mitte unter der Eingabestelle für Banknoten eine 4-stellige Automatennummer. Bitte geben Sie diese bei einer Rückfrage an.

Die Zahlungsarten

Sie bezahlen an den ÖBB Ticketautomaten entweder bar, mit Bankomatkarte (Maestro) oder mit Kreditkarte (VISA, Diners Club, MasterCard, American Express und JCB).

Der Automat akzeptiert 10-, 20- und 50-Cent-Münzen sowie 1- und 2-Euro-Münzen. Außerdem können Sie mit 5-, 10-, 20-, 50- und 100-Euro-Banknoten zahlen. 

Bei bargeldloser Bezahlung wird zusätzlich zu Ihrem Ticket ein Zahlungsbeleg ausgedruckt.

Der Automat kann als Retourgeld nur Münzen zurückgeben. Daher sind bei der Barzahlung mit Banknoten Mindestbeträge vorgegeben: Die Bezahlung mit einer 20-Euro-Banknote ist ab 11 Euro Zahlungsbetrag möglich, mit einer 50-Euro-Banknote ab 41 Euro und mit einer 100-Euro-Banknote ab 91 Euro. Die zulässigen Banknoten werden passend zum Rechnungsbetrag angezeigt.

Die Bedienung der Ticketautomaten

Die Bedienung der ÖBB Ticketautomaten ist in 9 Sprachen möglich. Wählen Sie bitte aus Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch, Italienisch, Kroatisch, Slowakisch, Slowenisch, Tschechisch und Ungarisch.

So funktioniert die Bedienung

  • Der ÖBB Ticketautomat hat eine Touchscreen-Oberfläche. Berühren Sie einfach die hellen (gelben) Felder auf der Oberfläche und geben Sie Ihr Fahrziel und gegebenenfalls Ihren Antrittsbahnhof ein. Der Automat führt Sie zu Ihrem gewünschten Ticket.
  • Weiß hinterlegte Felder bezeichnen eine Vorauswahl beziehungsweise Angaben, die den Kaufvorgang beschleunigen. Die Vorauswahl können Sie durch Berühren der gelben Felder jederzeit ändern.
  • Mit dem Feld „Schritt zurück“ (orange) machen Sie die letzte Eingabe rückgängig. Wollen Sie den Kaufvorgang abbrechen, berühren Sie das Feld „Neustart“ (dunkelrot). Dadurch werden alle Eingaben gelöscht.
  • Sind bestimmte Produkte nicht erhältlich oder bestimmte Angaben nicht möglich, erhalten Sie eine Bildschirm-Information. Haben Sie diese gelesen, drücken Sie auf das Feld „OK“ (blau).
  • Mit Berührung des grünen Feldes bestätigen Sie alle Eingaben auf einer Bildschirmleiste.
  • Bei Bezahlung mit Bankomatkarte (Maestro-Karte) wird Ihr PIN-Code abgefragt. Folgen Sie bitte den Hinweisen rechts am Display an der Eingabetastatur.
  • Tickets und Restgeld entnehmen Sie dem Ticketschacht links unten. Bei jeder bargeldlosen Zahlung wird zusätzlich automatisch einen Zahlungsbeleg ausgedruckt.
  • Bitte entnehmen Sie die Tickets und allenfalls das Retourgeld und überprüfen Sie dieses sofort.