The museum railway Nagycenk (with a track gauge of 760 mm) was created in 1972 upon an initiative by the Raab-Oedenburg-Ebenfurter Eisenbahn AG. The Raaberbahn operates the route, the service on the museum railway is provided by children assuming the role of railroaders. Although the museum railway line is only 3600 m long, it enjoys great popularity among young and adult railway enthusiasts alike.

In the park next to the stop “Kastély” (palace) you will find a new playground, as well as a permanent exhibition of narrow gauge vehicles. The exhibits on display offer visitors an overview of the locomotives and passenger coaches once used in Hungary. In the station building, there is a café where refreshments and snacks are available.

“Andreas” (András), the steam locomotive, and the train set date back to the beginning of the 20th century. The diesel locomotive “Kiscenk” was built in 1950 and has been in operation at the museum railway since 2003.

The Széchenyi Museum Railway offers a lasting experience and a journey back in time.

Directly in front of the railway station “Kastély”, in the palace park lies the Széchenyi Palace as well as the Memorial Museum. The early classicist building in Nagycenk is a fine example of palatial architecture in Hungary. It is the most outstanding and famous monument related to the Széchenyi family in the Sopron area, while the memorial museum's collection is unique in Hungary.

Included services:

  • Trip with the Széchenyi museum railway from Fertőboz to Nagycenk and back
  • Admission to the Széchenyi Palace and Memorial Museum in Nagycenk

Important note: On steam days, only trains powered by a steam locomotive are in operation. For these trains, a steam surcharge will be added (€ 2.00 per person and direction, payment on site).

Zielbahnhof: Förteboz

Price overview

from 01.04.18 - 30.09.18* ÖBB Plus-offer Local prices
Adult € 6.80 € 8.-
Child 6<15 years € 3.10 € 3.60

Children up to the age of 6 are free

* only Thu, Fry, Sat, Son + 02.04., 01.05., 21.05., 20.08.; not on the 11.5., 18.5., 24.5., 25.5., 1.6., 8.6., 15.6., 22.6., 29.6., 6.7., 13.7., 20.7., 27.7., 3.8., 10.8., 17.8., 14.9. + 21.9.2018

Die Museumseisenbahn Nagycenk (Spurweite 760 mm) entstand auf Initiative der Raab-Oedenburg-Ebenfurter Eisenbahn AG im Jahre 1972. Für den Betrieb der Strecke sorgt die Raaberbahn, den Dienst auf der Museumsbahn versehen Kindereisenbahner. Obwohl die Strecke der Museumsbahn nur 3600 m lang ist, erfreut sie sich sowohl unter jungen als auch erwachsenen Eisenbahnfreunden großer Popularität.

Im Park neben der Haltestelle „Kastély” (Schloss) erwartet Sie ein neuer Spielpark, sowie eine ständige Ausstellung von Schmalspurfahrzeugen. Durch die ausgestellten Exponate erhalten die Besucher einen Überblick über die in Ungarn einst eingesetzten Lokomotiven und Reisezugwagen. Im Bahnhofsgebäude befindet sich ein Café, wo auch Erfrischungsgetränke und kleine Snacks erhältlich sind.

„Andreas” (András), die Dampflokomotive und die Zuggarnitur stammen aus der Zeit zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts. „Kleinzinkendorf” (Kiscenk), die Diesellokomotive, wurde im Jahr 1950 gebaut und fährt seit 2003 bei der Museumseisenbahn.

Ein bleibendes Erlebnis und eine Reise in die Vergangenheit - all dies bietet die Széchenyi Museumseisenbahn.

Unmittelbar vor dem Bahnhof „Kastély”, im Schlosspark steht das Széchenyi-Schloss und Gedenkmuseum. Das frühklassizistische Gebäude in Nagycenk ist ein schönes Beispiel der Schlossarchitektur in Ungarn. Es ist die herausragendste und bekannteste Sehenswürdigkeit im Zusammenhang mit der Familie Széchenyi in der Umgebung von Sopron, die Sammlung des Gedenkmuseums hingegen ist einzigartig in ganz Ungarn.

Inkludierte Leistungen:

  • Fahrt mit der Széchenyi Museumsbahn von Fertőboz nach Nagycenk und zurück
  • Eintritt ins Széchenyi Schloss- und Gedenkmuseum in Nagycenk

Wichtiger Hinweis: An Dampftagen fahren ausschließlich dampflokbespannte Züge. Für diese Züge wird Dampfzuschlag eingehoben. (€ 2,- p. P. und Richtung, Bezahlung vor Ort).

Zielbahnhof: Fertöboz

Preisübersicht

von 01.04.18 - 30.09.18* ÖBB Plus-Angebot Preise vor Ort
Erwachsener € 6,80 € 8,-
Kinder 6<15 Jahre € 3,10 € 3,60

Kindern unter 6 Jahren gratis.

* nur Do, Fr, Sa, So + 02.04., 01.05., 21.05., 20.08.; nicht am 11.5., 18.5., 24.5., 25.5., 1.6., 8.6., 15.6., 22.6., 29.6., 6.7., 13.7., 20.7., 27.7., 3.8., 10.8., 17.8., 14.9. + 21.9.2018