The S-Bahn is your comfortable, stress-free and also quick option for getting around Vienna and its surroundings.

Main S-Bahn route Vienna Meidling to Vienna Floridsdorf (S1, S2, S3)
The route section between Vienna Meidling and Vienna Floridsdorf, which offers an S-Bahn connection that is equivalent to any subway connection, is referred to as the "Main Route". Three different lines (S1, S2, S3) which operate on the Main Route and stop at all stations between Meidling and Floridsdorf offer very short intervals and therefore guarantee short waiting times for passengers. During rush hours, the trains in this section operate at 3-minute intervals.

From 13 December 2015 onwards, several new line routes and shorter intervals ensure an even better offering by the Vienna S-Bahn. Beginning with the introduction of the new timetable, the S1, for example, will be running between Gänserndorf and Meidling - and not only to Mödling, as has been the case so far - at half-hour intervals. The S2 will also be operating at half-hour intervals between Wolkersdorf and Mödling (depending on demand even from Mistelbach or Schleinbach).

  • S7 - Half-hour intervals between Mistelbach and the airport: The S7 will operate at hourly intervals between Mistelbach and Vienna Airport or between Wolkersdorf and Wolfsthal. This creates an exact half-hour interval between Wolkersdorf and Vienna Airport.
  • S4 - Extension of the S3 to Absdorf and Tullnerfeld: The new line S4, which operates in the route section Stockerau - Absdorf-Hippersdorf - Tulln Stadt - Tullnerfeld, connects the Nordwestbahn (northwest railway) and the Franz-Josefs-Bahn with the new high-performance line through the Tullnerfeld. This creates new connections to/from Vienna West Station, Vienna Central Station, as well as to/from St. Pölten Central Station (REX200, ÖBB IC trains).
  • S50: Beginning with the introduction of the new timetable, the S50 will be connecting Vienna West station with Tullnerbach-Pressbaum at half-hourly intervals. Every other train runs to Neulengbach. Together with the trains of the new S80, which during rush hours also operate on this route section, this creates almost quarter-hourly intervals between Vienna Hütteldorf and Unter Purkersdorf.
  • S80: With its new route, the S80 now – for the first time ever – creates a quick and direct West-East connection within Vienna, offering connections to all of the city's subway lines. In Hütteldorf, new connections are now available to the local and regional trains on the Western Route, as well as to the S45. With the full re-opening of Vienna Central Station, the Matzleinsdorfer Platz station, which is so important for local public transport, is now also included as a stop.
  • The S60 will run from Bruck/Leitha via Vienna Central Station and Vienna Meidling to the Pottendorfer Line via Ebenfurth to Wiener Neustadt.

ÖBB operates 10 S-Bahn lines in Vienna

Line S1

Line S2

Line S3

Line S4

Line S7 - Airport connection

Line S40

Line S45 - The suburb line

  • Wien Hütteldorf - Wien Heiligenstadt - Wien Handelskai
    During rush hours, the S45 runs between Vienna Hütteldorf and Vienna Handelskai at 10-minute intervals. This makes the suburb line the ideal option for local transport for the districts 14, 16, 17, 18, 19 and 20, offering optimal connections to the Western Route, the S-Bahn Main Route, the Franz-Josefs-Bahn and the Wiener Linien. At four out of ten stations, S45 allows you to switch to a subway - U3 (Ottakring), U4 (Hütteldorf, Heiligenstadt) and U6 (Handelskai) - thereby allowing you to move around the city much faster.
  • Timetable Wien Hütteldorf - Wien Handelskai

Line S50

Line S60

Line S80


Transport association tickets
Book selected transport association tickets for Vienna now!
Booking is easy, either online at or mobile using the ÖBB App!

Please note that on ÖBB local trains (these are trains designated as S-Bahn, R or REX) you are required to have a valid ticket prior to boarding the train. The only exceptions are boarding stations where it is not possible to purchase a ticket.

Quick Facts

  • S-Bahn Vienna/Lower Austria/Burgenland: since: 1962
  • ÖBB-Lines: 9
  • Customers using ÖBB-S-Bahn-trains: approx. 240.000/day

Die S-Bahn ist Ihre bequeme, stressfreie und auch schnelle Möglichkeit, innerhalb Wiens und im Wiener Umland unterwegs zu sein.

S-Bahn Stammstrecke Wien Meidling bis Wien Floridsdorf (S1, S2, S3)
Als Stammstrecke wird das Teilstück zwischen Wien Meidling und Wien Floridsdorf mit einer der U-Bahn gleichwertigen S-Bahn-Verbindung bezeichnet. Durch drei verschiedene Linien (S1, S2, S3), die auf der Stammstrecke unterwegs sind und in allen Stationen zwischen Meidling und Floridsdorf halten, entsteht ein sehr kurzer Intervall und damit eine geringe Wartezeit für die Reisenden. In der Hauptverkehrszeit sind die Züge in diesem Abschnitt im 3-Minuten-Takt unterwegs.

Bei der Wiener S-Bahn sorgen ab 13.12.2015 einige neue Linienführungen und Taktverdichtungen für ein noch besseres Angebot. So verkehrt z.B. die S1 ab Fahrplanwechsel im Halbstundentakt einheitlich zwischen Gänserndorf und Meidling - statt wie bisher nach Mödling. Die S2 fährt ebenfalls halbstündlich zwischen Wolkersdorf und Mödling (nachfrageorientiert bereits von Mistelbach bzw. Schleinbach).

  • S7 - Halbstundentakt Mistelbach-Flughafen: Die S7 wird jeweils im Stundentakt von Mistelbach bis Flughafen Wien bzw. von Wolkersdorf bis Wolfsthal, geführt. Dadurch entsteht ein exakter Halbstundentakt zwischen Wolkersdorf und Flughafen Wien.
  • S4 - Verlängerung der S3 bis Absdorf und Tullnerfeld: Die neue, im Streckenabschnitt Stockerau - Absdorf-Hippersdorf - Tulln Stadt - Tullnerfeld verkehrende Linie S4 verbindet die Nordwestbahn und die Franz-Josefs-Bahn mit der neuen Hochleistungsstrecke durch das Tullnerfeld. Dadurch entstehen neue Anschlussverbindungen nach/von Wien Westbahnhof, Wien Hbf bzw. von/nach  St. Pölten Hbf (REX200, ÖBB IC-Züge).
  • S50: Die S50 verbindet ab Fahrplanwechsel den Wiener Westbahnhof halbstündlich mit Tullnerbach-Pressbaum. Jeder zweite Zug verkehrt bis Neulengbach. Zwischen Wien Hütteldorf und Unter Purkersdorf entsteht durch die zusätzlich in diesem Streckenabschnitt in der Hauptverkehrszeit verkehrenden Züge der neuen S80 ein annähernder 1/4-Stunden-Takt.
  • S80: Durch die neue Führung der S80 wird erstmals eine flotte und direkte West-Ost-Verbindung innerhalb Wiens geschaffen und damit an alle Wiener U-Bahn-Linien angeschlossen. In Hütteldorf entstehen zudem neue Anschlüsse an die Nah- und Regionalverkehrszüge der Weststrecke und an die S45. Durch die Vollinbetriebnahme des Wiener Hbf kann nun auch die für den Nahverkehr wichtige Station Matzleinsdorfer Platz bedient werden.
  • Die S60 wird neu von Bruck/Leitha über Wien Hbf und Wien Meidling zur Pottendorfer Linie über Ebenfurth nach Wiener Neustadt geführt.

Die ÖBB betreiben 10 S-Bahn-Linien in Wien

Linie S1

Linie S2

Linie S3

Linie S4

Linie S7 - Flughafenverbindung

Linie S40

Linie S45 - Die Vorortelinie

  • Wien Hütteldorf - Wien Heiligenstadt - Wien Handelskai
    Die S45 verkehrt in den Hauptverkehrszeiten im 10-Minuten-Takt zwischen Wien Hütteldorf und Wien Handelskai. Damit ist die Vorortelinie das ideale Nahverkehrsmittel für die Bezirke 14, 16, 17, 18, 19 und 20 mit optimalen Anschlüssen an die Westrecke, S-Bahn-Stammstrecke, Franz-Josefs-Bahn und die Wiener Linien. Bei vier von zehn Stationen ermöglicht die S45 den Umstieg auf die U-Bahn - U3 (Ottakring), U4 (Hütteldorf, Heiligenstadt) und U6 (Handelskai) - und beschleunigt damit das Fortkommen in der Stadt enorm.
  • Fahrplan Wien Hütteldorf - Wien Handelskai

Linie S50

Linie S60

Linie S80

Tipp

Verkehrsverbund-Tickets
Jetzt ausgewählte Verbundtickets für Wien buchen!
Einfach online unter tickets.oebb.at bzw. mobile mit der ÖBB App!

Bitte beachten Sie, dass in Nahverkehrszügen der ÖBB (das sind Züge mit der Bezeichnung S-Bahn, R oder REX) die Fahrt nur mit gültiger Fahrkarte angetreten werden kann. Die einzige Ausnahme sind Zustiegsbahnhöfe, in denen ein Fahrkartenkauf nicht möglich ist.

Quick Facts

  • S-Bahn Wien/NÖ/Burgenland: seit: 1962
  • ÖBB-Linien: 9
  • Fahrgäste in ÖBB-S-Bahn-Zügen: ca. 240.000/Tag