Forget about traffic jams and take the S-Bahn to reach your destination comfortably and on time. The S-Bahn project, which was initiated by ÖBB in collaboration with the state and the City of Salzburg, stands for fast and environmentally friendly rail transport at regular intervals throughout the central region of Salzburg, offering optimal connections to both urban and regional bus lines.

Bringing motorists to the train

In Salzburg, there are plenty of opportunities to swap your car for a train. P&R parking lots are located, for example, at the S2 stops Seekirchen am Wallersee, Neumarkt-Köstendorf and Hallwang-Elixhausen, as well as the S3 stops in Hallein, Puch bei Hallein and Bischofshofen.

ÖBB operates 2 S-Bahn lines in Salzburg

Line S2

Line S3

  • Bad Reichenhall - Freilassing - Schwarzach St. Veit 
    The S3 offers daily cross-border connections with hourly intervals between Bad Reichenhall and Schwarzach St. Veit, in the Bavarian section between Freilassing and Bad Reichenhall in cooperation with Berchtesgadener Land Bahn. On working days, the S3 operates at 30-minute intervals between Freilassing and Golling-Abtenau.

In addition to this, the Salzburger Lokalbahnen as well as the Berchtesgadener Land Bahn operate the lines S1, S4 and S11.


Transport association tickets
Book selected transport association tickets for Vienna now!
Booking is easy, either online at or mobile using the ÖBB App!

Please note that on ÖBB local trains (these are trains designated as S-Bahn, R or REX) you are required to have a valid ticket prior to boarding the train. The only exceptions are boarding stations where it is not possible to purchase a ticket.

S-Bahn lines operated by SLB and BLB

  • Line S1
    Lamprechtshausen - Salzburg Hauptbahnhof (SLB) 
    On the entire route between Lamprechtshausen and Salzburg Central Station, the S1 runs at half-hourly intervals every day.

  • Line S4
    Berchtesgaden - Freilassing (BLB) 
    On the entire route between Berchtesgaden and Freilassing, the S4/Berchtesgadener Land Bahn runs at hourly intervals every day.

  • Line S11
    Ostermiething - Bürmoos (SLB) 
    On the route between Ostermiething and Bürmoos, the S11 generally runs at hourly intervals. During certain times, the offering is supplemented with additional connections to/from Salzburg.

Quick Facts

  • S-Bahn Salzburg: since 2003
  • ÖBB-Lines: 2
  • Customers using ÖBB-S-Bahn-trains: approx. 22.000/day

Lassen Sie den Stau stehen und sich mit der S-Bahn gemütlich und pünktlich an Ihr Ziel bringen. Das von den ÖBB gemeinsam mit dem Land und der Stadt Salzburg initiierte Projekt S-Bahn steht für einen schnellen und umweltfreundlichen Schienen-Taktverkehr im Salzburger Zentralraum mit optimalen Verknüpfungen zu den innerstädtischen bzw. regionalen Buslinien.

So kommen Autofahrer zum Zug

In Salzburg gibt es zahlreiche Möglichkeiten Ihr Auto gegen den Zug einzutauschen. P&R Plätze finden Sie z.B bei den S2-Stationen Seekirchen am Wallersee, Neumarkt-Köstendorf und Hallwang-Elixhausen, sowie an den S3-Stationen in Hallein, Puch bei Hallein und Bischofshofen.

Die ÖBB betreiben 2 S-Bahn-Linien in Salzburg

Linie S2

Linie S3

  • Bad Reichenhall - Freilassing - Schwarzach St. Veit 
    Die S3 verkehrt täglich im Stundentakt grenzüberschreitend zwischen Bad Reichenhall und Schwarzach St. Veit, im bayerischen Abschnitt zwischen Freilassing und Bad Reichenhall in Kooperation mit der Berchtesgadener Land Bahn. An Werktagen wird die S3 im Halbstundentakt zwischen Freilassing und Golling-Abtenau geführt.

Zusätzlich betreiben die Salzburger Lokalbahnen sowie die Berchtesgadener Land Bahn die Linien S1, S4 und S11.

Hinweis

Die Mitnahme von Fahrrädern in Nahverkehrszügen der ÖBB und in im Auftrag der ÖBB verkehrenden Zügen (BLB-Flirt) zwischen den Bahnhöfen Salzburg Hbf und Freilassing ist GRATIS (gültig bis 31.12.2016).

Tipp

Verkehrsverbund-Tickets
Jetzt ausgewählte Verbundtickets für Wien buchen!
Einfach online unter tickets.oebb.at bzw. mobile mit der ÖBB App!

Bitte beachten Sie, dass in Nahverkehrszügen der ÖBB (das sind Züge mit der Bezeichnung S-Bahn, R oder REX) die Fahrt nur mit gültiger Fahrkarte angetreten werden kann. Die einzige Ausnahme sind Zustiegsbahnhöfe, in denen ein Fahrkartenkauf nicht möglich ist.

S-Bahn Linien der SLB und BLB

  • Linie S1
    Lamprechtshausen - Salzburg Hauptbahnhof (SLB) 
    Die S1 fährt täglich auf der gesamten Strecke zwischen Lamprechtshausen und Salzburg Hauptbahnhof im Halbstundentakt

  • Linie S4
    Berchtesgaden - Freilassing (BLB) 
    Die S4/Berchtesgadener Land Bahn fährt täglich auf der gesamten Strecke zwischen Berchtesgaden und Freilassing im Stundentakt.

  • Linie S11
    Ostermiething - Bürmoos (SLB) 
    Die S11 fährt auf der Strecke zwischen Ostermiething und Bürmoos grundsätzlich einen Stundentakt, zeitweise ergänzt durch zusätzliche Fahrten von/nach Salzburg.

Quick Facts

  • S-Bahn Salzburg: seit 2003
  • ÖBB-Linien: 2
  • Fahrgäste in ÖBB-S-Bahn-Zügen: ca. 22.000/Tag