Linz is the UNESCO City of Media Arts!

In 2016, the European Capital of Culture invites its visitors to discover Linz as a city of the present with an eye on the future. Experience Linz as a symbiosis of an industrial, cultural, natural and international creative city of the present - embedded in the magnificent riverine landscapes of the Danube. With its nomination as the "UNESCO City of Media Arts", Linz joins cities such as Lyon, Sapporo, Tel Aviv and Dakar as one of the most future-oriented places in the world. Apart from technological thought-leadership and visionary media art, the city also offers numerous historic and cultural highlights, as well as culinary delights. Immerse yourself in this multi-faceted cultural experience on the banks of the Danube.

In Linz, the Danube is colourful - not least because the changing LED facades of the Lentos Art Museum and the Ars Electronica Center are reflected on the water. The event programme, which includes the multimedia show Linzer Klangwolke as well as countless concerts and festivals along the banks of the Danube, converts Europe's second-largest river into an oversized open-air stage.

LINZ CARD 2016

With the 1-day or the 3-day ticket for the Linz-Card 2016, all doors are open to you when you visit the city on the Danube: free admission to museums and exhibitions, free usage of all public transport, and the Donau-Kultur-Gutschein, a voucher worth € 10.00 for concerts, theatre productions or boat rides.
Additional for holders of the 3-day-Card:
1 return-ticket (uphill & downhill) on the Pöstlingberg Tram and € 5.00 for gastronomy voucher

DIVERSE PROGRAMME AT THE LINZ MUSEUMS

ARS ELECTRONICA CENTER

www.aec.at

Join us on an extraordinary discovery journey at the intersection of art, technology and society! Located immediately on the banks of the Danube, the "Museum of the Future" will inspire you with its fascinating architecture, impressive exhibitions and the unique 8K Deep Space which whisks you away to exciting 2-D and 3-D worlds.

Exhibitions:

  • New Views of Humankind
  • Deep Space 8K
  • Spaceship Earth
  • Elements of Art and Science
  • Out of Control: What the Web Knows About You
  • TIME OUT

LANDESGALERIE LINZ

www.landesgalerie.at

The Landesgalerie (State Gallery) holds the world's largest collection of original works by the draughtsman and illustrator Alfred Kubin. You can discover a special selection of these works almost year-round in the museum's Kubin Cabinet.

The realistic painting style of the "New Objectivity" movement during the 1920s was mainly concentrated on the German artistic centres of Munich, Dresden and Berlin. This exhibition focuses on how this artistic movement was received in the eastern regions of the Weimar Republic and which parallel developments emerged at the same time within the Czech and Polish art scene.

  • Messerscharf und detailverliebt. (Razor-sharp and with a love of detail.) Werke der Neuen Sachlichkeit (Works from the New Objectivity Movement)
    Exhibition period: 10 March through 5 June 2016

LENTOS KUNSTMUSEUM LINZ

www.lentos.at

With its architecture, the LENTOS Kunstmuseum is a hallmark of the city's skyline. It is considered one of the most important museums for modern and contemporary art. From 5 February onwards, we invite you to discover a completely new presentation of the LENTOS collection. The artists Özlem Altin, Verena Dengler and

Hans Kupelwieser are designing very personal exhibition rooms. Special exhibitions with works belonging to the collector RENÉ BLOCK as well as the artists INGEBORG STROBL and GOTTFRIED BECHTOLD will be held during the course of the year 2016.

  • NEW PRESENTATION OF THE COLLECTION
    From 05 February 2016 onwards
  • ICH KENNE KEIN WEEKEND
    From the archive and collection of René Block
    18 March through 05 June 2016
  • INGEBORG STROBL
    24 June through 02 October 2016
  • GOTTFRIED BECHTOLD
    21 October 2016 through 19 February 2017

NORDICO STADTMUSEUM LINZ

www.nordico.at

The City Museum (Stadtmuseum) is hosting the exhibition "ST. MARTIN'S CHURCH, CRUSADERS AND BOTTLED BEER - Linz Architecture through 1200 Years" through the end of March. The exhibition includes exciting findings from archaeological excavations in the urban area of Linz. The sensational and extensive photo archive provides the foundation for the exhibition KLICK! which starts in April. The year will then conclude with an exhibition on the Linz painter and graphic artist KLEMENS BROSCH.

  • KLICK! LINZER FOTOGRAFIE DER ZWISCHENKRIEGSZEIT (LINZ PHOTOGRAPHY DURING THE INTERWAR PERIOD)
    15 April through 11 September 2016
  • KLEMENS BROSCH
    30 September 2016 through 08 January 2017

OÖ KULTURQUARTIER

www.ooekulturquartier.at

The OÖ Kulturquartier offers a venue for cutting-edge regional culture and international festivals. From June through October, a HÖHENRAUSCH exhibition above the rooftops of Linz is planned. With this exhibition format, the city has created a new hallmark for itself.

  • HÖHENRAUSCH 2016
    19 May through mid-October 2016
  • CYBERARTS 16
    Prix Ars Electronica Exhibition
    08 through 18 September 2016

SCHLOSSMUSEUM LINZ

www.schlossmuseum.at

The southern wing, which was constructed during the Capital of Culture year, is home to the permanent exhibitions "Technology" and "Nature in Upper Austria". In 2016, the palace will be celebrating its 50th anniversary. On this occasion, 50 employees will be telling 50 palace stories which highlight different episodes from the Linz palace's history. Another highlight of the year 2016 willl be the exhibition on the most prominent characters of the Medici family during the second half of the 16th century and the importance and impact of power and representation in the Italian renaissance.

  • 50 years - 50 works - 50 stories
    Anniversary tour through the Schlossmuseum
    15. January 2016 through 8 January 2017
  • Portraits from the Uffizi. The splendour of the Medici in Linz     
    16 March through 21 August 2016

VOESTALPINE STAHLWELT    

www.voestalpine.com/stahlwelt

The voestalpine Stahlwelt, the world of knowledge and discovery about one of the most modern and important materials of our times, offers breath-taking insights into the voestalpine group of companies. Steel production and processing in high-tech plants, the "city inside the city" with its countless working environments and the impressive views offered by the six square kilometres of factory premises in Linz - all this and much more is waiting to be discovered by you during a plant tour through the voestalpine Stahlwelt.

The "Zeitgeschichteausstellung 1938-1945", an exhibition on contemporary history, focuses on the fates and life stories of forced labourers at the Reichswerke Hermann Göring in Linz. This permanent exhibition is located in the voestalpine group headquarters.

Included services:

  • 1-day ticket Linz Card or
  • 3-day ticket Linz Card

Destination station: Linz

Price overview

from 01.01.16 - 31.12.16ÖBB Plus-offerLocal prices
1-day ticket Linz Card € 15.- € 18.-
3-day ticket Linz Card € 25.- € 30.-

Tickets for children are not offered.

Contact

Hint

You travel as planned, and on either the same day or one of the two following days, you simply exchange the voucher directly at the touristic attraction.

Linz ist UNESCO City of Media Arts!

2016 lädt die Kulturhauptstadt Europas ihre Besucher ein, Linz als Stadt der Gegenwart mit Blick in die Zukunft zu entdecken. Erleben Sie Linz, eine Symbiose aus Industrie-, Kultur-, Natur- und internationaler Creative-City der Gegenwart – eingebettet in wunderschöne Donau-Flusslandschaften. Mit der Ernennung zur "UNESCO City of Media Arts" zählt Linz wie etwa auch Lyon, Sapporo, Tel Aviv und Dakar zu den weltweit besonders zukunftsorientierten Orten. Neben technologischem Vordenkertum und visionärer Medien-Kunst, bietet die Stadt auch eine Vielzahl historischer und kultureller Highlights sowie kulinarischen Hochgenuss. Tauchen Sie ein in das facettenreiche Kulturerlebnis am Donauufer.

In Linz ist die Donau bunt, nicht nur weil sich die wechselnden LED-Fassaden des Lentos Kunstmuseums und Ars Electronica Centers im Wasser spiegeln. Auch das Veranstaltungsprogramm mit der multimedialen Linzer Klangwolke und zahlreichen Konzerten und Festivals am Donauufer verwandeln den zweigrößten Strom Europas in eine überdimensionale Open-Air-Bühne.

LINZ CARD 2016

Mit dem 1-Tages- oder dem 3-Tage-Ticket der Linz-Card 2016 stehen bei Ihrem Besuch in der Donaustadt alle Türen offen: Freier Eintritt in die Museen und Ausstellungen, Freifahrt auf den öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln und der Donau-Kultur-Gutschein im Wert von € 10,00 für Konzert, Theater und Schifffahrt.
Zusätzliche Leistung des 3-Tage-Tickets:
1 Berg- und Talfahrt mit der Pöstlingbergbahn und € 5,00 Gastronomiegutschein

PROGRAMMVIELFALT DER LINZER MUSEEN

ARS ELECTRONICA CENTER

www.aec.at

Kommen Sie mit auf eine außergewöhnliche Entdeckungsreise an der Schnittstelle zwischen Kunst, Technologie und Gesellschaft! Direkt an der Donau gelegen, begeistert das "Museum der Zukunft" mit faszinierender Architektur, beeindruckenden Ausstellungen und dem einzigartigen 8K Deep Space, der in spannende 2-D- und 3-D-Welten entführt.

Ausstellungen:

  • Neue Bilder vom Menschen
  • Deep Space 8K
  • Raumschiff Erde
  • Elements of Art and Science
  • Außer Kontrolle: was das Netz über dich weiß
  • TIME OUT

LANDESGALERIE LINZ

www.landesgalerie.at

Die Landesgalerie betreut die weltweit größte Sammlung an Originalwerken des Zeichners und Illustrators Alfred Kubin. Eine besondere Auswahl können Sie fast während des gesamten Jahres im Kubin-Kabinett des Museums entdecken. Der realistische Malstil der Neuen Sachlichkeit war in Deutschland während der 1920er- Jahre vor allem in den Kunstzentren München, Dresden und Berlin vertreten. Inwiefern die Kunstströmung jedoch auch in den östlichen Gebieten der Weimarer Republik rezipiert wurde und welche Parallelen zeitgleich in der tschechoslowakischen und polnischen Kunstszene auftraten, ist Thema dieser Ausstellung. Messerscharf und detailverliebt. Werke der Neuen Sachlichkeit

Ausstellungsdauer: 10. März - 5. Juni 2016

LENTOS KUNSTMUSEUM LINZ

www.lentos.at

Das LENTOS Kunstmuseum prägt mit seiner Architektur das Bild der Stadt und zählt zu den bedeutendsten Museen für moderne und zeitgenössische Kunst. Ab 5. Februar wird die LENTOS Sammlung neu präsentiert. Die KünstlerInnen Özlem Altin, Verena Dengler und Hans Kupelwieser gestalten ganz persönliche Ausstellungsräume. Sonderausstellungen mit Werken des Sammlers RENÉ BLOCK sowie der KünstlerInnen INGEBORG STROBL und GOTTFRIED BECHTOLD sind im Laufe des Jahres 2016 zu sehen.

  • NEUE SAMMLUNGSPRÄSENTATION
    Ab 05. Feb. 16
  • ICH KENNE KEIN WEEKEND
    Aus René Blocks Archiv und Sammlung
    18. Mär. - 05. Jun. 16
  • INGEBORG STROBL
    24. Jun. - 02. Okt. 16
  • GOTTFRIED BECHTOLD
    21. Okt. 16 - 19. Feb. 17

NORDICO STADTMUSEUM LINZ

www.nordico.at

Im Stadtmuseum ist bis Ende März die Ausstellung MARTINSKIRCHE, KREUZRITTER UND FLASCHENBIER. Linzer Archäologie aus 1200 Jahren zu sehen. Gezeigt werden spannende Fundstücke archäologischer Grabungen im Linzer Stadtraum. Das sensationelle und umfangreiche Fotoarchiv bildet den Grundstock der Ausstellung KLICK! ab April. Das Ausstellungsjahr wird eine Schau über den Linzer Maler und Grafiker KLEMENS BROSCH beschließen-

  • KLICK! LINZER FOTOGRAFIE DER ZWISCHENKRIEGSZEIT
    15. Apr. - 11. Sep. 16
  • KLEMENS BROSCH
    30. Sep. 16 - 08. Jän. 17

OÖ KULTURQUARTIER

www.ooekulturquartier.at

Das OÖ Kulturquartier, bietet Raum für experimentierfreudige Regionalkultur und internationale Festivals. Von Juni bis Oktober ist wieder eine HÖHENRAUSCH Ausstellung über den Dächern von Linz geplant. Ein Ausstellungsformat, mit dem sich die Stadt ein weiteres Markenzeichen geschaffen hat.

  • HÖHENRAUSCH 2016
    19. Mai - Mitte Okt. 16
  • CYBERARTS 16
    Prix Ars Electronica Exhibition
    08. - 18. Sep. 16

SCHLOSSMUSEUM LINZ

www.schlossmuseum.at

Der im Kulturhauptstadtjahr entstandene neue Südtrakt beherbergt die Dauerausstellungen "Technik" und "Natur Oberösterreich". Im Jahr 2016 feiert das Schlossmuseum sein 50-jähriges Jubiläum. Aus diesem Anlass werden von 50 Mitarbeiter/innen 50 Schlossgeschichten erzählt, die Schlaglichter auf die Geschichte des Linzer Schlosses werfen. Ein weiterer Höhepunkt des Jahres 2016 ist die Ausstellung über die bedeutendsten Persönlichkeiten der Medici in der 2. Hälfte des 16. Jahrhunderts und die Bedeutung und Wirkung von Macht und Repräsentation in der italienischen Renaissance.

  • 50 Jahre - 50 Werke - 50 Geschichten
    Jubiläumsrundgang durch das Schlossmuseum
    15. Jän. 2016 - 8. Jän. 17
  • Portaits aus den Uffizien. Der Glanz der Medici in Linz  
    16. Mär. - 21. Aug.16

VOESTALPINE STAHLWELT    

www.voestalpine.com/stahlwelt

Die voestalpine Stahlwelt, die Wissens- und Erlebniswelt rund um einen der modernsten und wichtigsten Werkstoffe unserer Zeit, bietet atemberaubende Einblicke in den Konzern voestalpine. Stahlproduktion und -verarbeitung mit High-Tech Anlagen, die "Stadt in der Stadt" mit unzähligen Arbeitswelten und die beeindruckenden Ausblicke am sechs Quadratkilometer großen Werksgelände in Linz - das alles und noch viel mehr erleben Sie bei der Werkstour der voestalpine Stahlwelt.

Bei der "Zeitgeschichteausstellung 1938-1945" - stehen die Zwangsarbeiterinnen und Zwangsarbeiter der Reichswerke Hermann Göring in Linz - ihre Schicksale und Lebensgeschichten - im Mittelpunkt der Ausstellung. Diese Dauerausstellung befindet sich in der voestalpine-Konzernzentrale.

Inkludierte Leistungen:

  • 1-Tages-Karte Linz Card oder
  • 3-Tage-Karte Linz Card

Zielbahnhof: Linz

Preisübersicht

von 01.01.16 - 31.12.16 ÖBB Plus-Angebot Preise vor Ort
1-Tages-Karte Erwachsener € 15,- € 18,-
3-Tage-Karte Erwachsener € 25,- € 30,-

Kinder werden nicht angeboten

Kontakt

Hinweis

Die Reise antreten und am selben oder den beiden darauffolgenden Tagen den Voucher einfach bei der Kassa der jeweiligen Freizeiteinrichtung gegen das gebuchte Freizeitangebot eintauschen.