The Grand Train Tour of Switzerland combines the most beautiful panoramic routes to create a unique travel experience. On 365 days a year, it brings you to the highlights of public transport on approximately 1,200 kilometres. The entire tour can be done with a Swiss Travel Pass.

Switzerland's most beautiful routes

The Grand Train Tour of Switzerland includes 8 routes. Travellers can start their trip at any point along the route. Each section promises magnificent views and interesting getaway destinations.

If you start off from Zurich, the route will take you from Lake Zurich to St. Gallen, onwards to Lucerne with the Voralpen-Express and then to Interlaken and Montreux on the GoldenPass Line. From Lake Geneva, you head off towards Martigny, Brig and Zermatt, where the Glacier Express towards Chur and St. Moritz awaits you. At this glamorous health resort, travellers have two options on how to continue their trip to Lugano: during the summer with the Bernina Express and the Bernina Express Bus, during the winter with the Palm Express (PostAuto). The Wilhelm Tell Express then takes you to Lucerne and from there back to Zurich.

Stops along the Grand Train Tour: Our excursion tips

If you want to do the Grand Train Tour of Switzerland, we recommend you get a Swiss Travel Pass for 4 or 8 days (depending on how much time you have).

From Zurich to St. Gallen
The train ride through Eastern Switzerland takes you past the famous Rhine Falls and the City of Schaffhausen. Soon, you will be able to see Lake Constance. You follow its shoreline until you reach St. Gallen. There, you may want to consider visiting the Abbey District with the Abbey Library which holds more than 170,000 books and documents.

After St. Gallen, the Voralpen-Express crosses the gateway to Appenzell. Here, the Säntis and the Churfirsten mountain range as precursors of the Alps rise into the sky. Passing Rapperswil, the town or roses, you continue on to Lucerne, the metropolis on the lake with the same name.

From Lucerne to Montreux (GoldenPass Line)
On the Lucerne-Interlaken Express, you first cross the Brünig Pass at 1,008 metres, heading towards Meiringen and then onwards to Brienz and Interlaken. After changing to one of the comfortable BLS trains, the trip takes you along Lake Thun through the Simmental to Zweisimmen. Here, the GoldenPass Panoramic will be waiting to take you on the last leg of your trip. It passes the glamorous holiday resort of Gstaad and continues to the vineyards along Lake Geneva before reaching Montreux.

From Montreux to Zermatt
From Lake Geneva, it is only a stone's throw to Martigny. You continue onwards through the Rhȏne valley to Brig with its famous Stockalper Palace. The train takes you through the Nikolai Valley, Switzerland's steepest canyon. After a short while, you get a view of the Matterhorn, the most photographed mountain in the world.

From Zermatt to St. Moritz (Glacier Express)
Zermatt is the point of departure and destination for one of the most famous trains in the world: the Glacier Express. From the Matterhorn, the train heads towards idyllic Goms and the holiday town of Andermatt at the foot of the 2,044 metre-high Oberalp Pass. On the other side, a magnificent view of the Benedictine Monestary Disentis awaits you, as well as the Rhine Gorge and the Albula line operated by the Rhaetian Railway - part of the UNESCO World Heritage.

From St. Moritz to Lugano (Bernina Express/Palm Express)
The mountain town of St. Moritz has always been the epitome of glamour. Its celebrities also include the Bernina Express, which takes passengers on a trip from the North to the South of Europe - along one of the highest railway lines in the Alps. The UNESCO World Heritage route between Thusis and Tirano offers fantastic views, culminating in the 2,253 metre-high Bernina Pass.

During the summertime, you continue your trip with the Bernina Express Bus from Tirano to Lugano - through the picturesque Veltlin and following the shoreline of Lake Como. If you are travelling from St. Moritz to Lugano during the winter months, you will be taking the Palm Express. This yellow PostAuto takes you through the Engadine, over the Maloja Pass and through Val Bregaglia along Lake Como to Lugano.

From Lugano to Lucerne (Wilhelm Tell Express)
The Wilhelm Tell Express combines your rail experience with a pleasurable boat ride. In SBB's 1st class observation car, travellers can discover the world-famous Gotthard route. In Flüelen, you board a historic paddle steamer and enjoy a trip across Lake Lucerne. On the way, you pass historical sites in William Tell's home region, while enjoying wonderful views.

From Lucerne to Zurich
Lucerne is the starting point for the last leg of the Grand Train Tour of Switzerland. The lake route takes you from Lake Lucerne along the Rotsee near Ebikon. After a short while, Lake Zug, the tenth largest water body in Switzerland, comes into sight. The final stretch of the trip takes you past Lake Zurich with its vineyards and cosy little villages to the City of Zurich.

Die Grand Train Tour of Switzerland vereint die schönsten Panoramarouten zu einem einmaligen Reiseerlebnis. Auf rund 1.200 Kilometern verbindet sie ganzjährig die Highlights des öffentlichen Verkehrs. Die gesamte Tour lässt sich mit dem Swiss Travel Pass absolvieren.

Die schönsten Routen der Schweiz

Die Grand Train Tour of Switzerland umfasst 8 Routen. Reisende können an jedem beliebigen Punkt entlang der Strecke starten. Jeder Abschnitt verspricht grandiose Aussichten und interessante Ausflugsziele.

Starten Sie in Zürich, führt Ihre Route vom Zürichsee nach St. Gallen, mit dem Voralpen-Express weiter nach Luzern und schließlich auf der GoldenPass Line nach Interlaken und Montreux. Vom Genfersee nehmen Sie Fahrt nach Martigny, Brig und Zermatt auf, wo schon der Glacier Express Richtung Chur und St. Moritz wartet. Im mondänen Kurort haben Reisende gleich zwei Möglichkeiten, die Reise nach Lugano fortzusetzen: im Sommer mit dem Bernina Express und dem Bernina Express Bus, und im Winter mit dem Palm Express (PostAuto). Mit dem Wilhelm Tell Express geht es nach Luzern und von dort zurück nach Zürich.

Etappen der Grand Train Tour: Unsere Ausflugstipps

Um die Grand Train Tour of Switzerland zu absolvieren, empfiehlt sich je nach Zeitbudget der Swiss Travel Pass für 4 oder 8 Tage.

Von Zürich nach St Gallen
Die Zugfahrt durch die Ostschweiz führt Sie vorbei am berühmten Rheinfall und der Stadt Schaffhausen. Bald kommt der Bodensee in Sicht. An seinem Ufer entlang geht es weiter bis nach St. Gallen. Hier lockt ein Besuch des Stiftsbezirks mit der Stiftsbibliothek, in der mehr als 170.000 Bücher und Schriften lagern.

Hinter St. Gallen passiert der Voralpen-Express das Tor zum Appenzell. Hier ragen der Säntis und die Gebirgskette der Churfirsten als Vorboten der Alpen in den Himmel. Über die Rosenstadt Rapperswil geht es weiter Richtung Luzern, die Metropole am Vierwaldstättersee.

Von Luzern nach Montreux (GoldenPass Line)
Im Luzern-Interlaken Express fährt man zunächst über den 1.008 Meter hohen Brünigpass nach Meiringen und weiter nach Brienz und Interlaken. Nach dem Umstieg in einen der komfortablen BLS-Züge führt die Fahrt entlang des Thunersees und durch das Simmental nach Zweisimmen. Hier steht schon der GoldenPass Panoramic für die letzte Etappe Ihrer Reise bereit. Sie geht über den mondänen Ferienort Gstaad zu den Weinbergen am Genfersee, bevor der Zug Montreux erreicht.

Von Montreux nach Zermatt
Vom Genfersee ist es nur ein Katzensprung nach Martigny. Weiter geht es durch das Rhȏnetal nach Brig mit dem berühmten Stockalperpalast. Mit dem Zug fährt man von hier durch das tiefsteingeschnittene Tal der Schweiz, das Nikolaital. Und schon bald kommt das Matterhorn, der meistfotografierte Berg der Welt, in Sicht.

Von Zermatt nach St. Moritz (Glacier Express)
Zermatt ist Ausgangs- und Zielort eines der berühmtesten Züge weltweit: des Glacier Express. Vom Matterhorn nimmt der Zug Kurs auf das idyllische Goms und den Ferienort Andermatt am Fuß des 2.044 Meter hohen Oberalppasses. Auf der anderen Seite locken Aussichten auf das Benediktinerkloster Disentis, die Rheinschlucht und die Albulalinie der Rhätischen Bahn - Teil des UNESCO-Welterbes.

Von St. Moritz nach Lugano (Bernina Express/Palm Express)
Das Bergdorf St. Moritz steht seit jeher für Glamour. Zu seinen Berühmtheiten zählt auch der Bernina Express, der die Fahrgäste auf eine Reise vom Norden in den Süden Europas entführt - über die höchste Bahnstrecke in den Alpen. Die UNESCO-Welterbestrecke zwischen Thusis und Tirano bietet fantastische Ausblicke und findet ihren Höhepunkt auf dem 2.253 Meter hohen Berninapass.

Im Sommer geht die Reise mit dem Bernina Express Bus von Tirano weiter nach Lugano - durch das malerische Veltlin und vorbei am Comersee. Reisende, die die Strecke von St. Moritz nach Lugano im Winter antreten, fahren mit dem Palm Express. Mit diesem gelben PostAuto geht es durch das Engadin, über den Malojapass und durch das Bergell, entlang des Comersees bis nach Lugano.

Von Lugano nach Luzern (Wilhelm Tell Express)
Der Wilhelm Tell Express verbindet Bahnerlebnis und Schiffsgenuss. Im 1. Klasse-Panoramawagen der SBB entdecken Reisende die weltbekannte Gotthardlinie. In Flüelen steigt man um auf einen historischen Raddampfer und genießt die Fahrt über den Vierwaldstättersee. Unterwegs kreuzt man geschichtsträchtige Orte in der Heimat von Wilhelm Tell und erlebt traumhafte Aussichten.

Von Luzern nach Zürich
Luzern ist Ausgangspunkt der letzten Etappe der Grand Train Tour of Switzerland. Die Seen-Route führt vom Vierwaldstättersee entlang des Rotsees bei Ebikon. Und schon bald kommt der Zugersee, das zehntgrößte Gewässer der Schweiz, in Sicht. Den Abschluss der Reise bildet der Zürichsee mit seinen Weinbergen, heimeligen Dörfern und der Stadt Zürich.