ÖBB Railjet trains run twice an hour from Vienna to Salzburg via St. Pölten and Linz, and the ÖBB Railjet fast service takes only 2 hours and 22 minutes to travel between Vienna and Salzburg. This service runs hourly and only makes two stops in St. Pölten and Linz. In addition, there is an hourly Railjet service between Vienna and Salzburg that stops at other major railway stations, where you can catch connections to many other regional destinations. These services calling at other major stations take 2 hours and 53 minutes for the Vienna – Salzburg route. The ÖBB Railjet will take you from Vienna to Linz in as little as 1 hour and 16 minutes.

This high-frequency service is supplemented by the ICE service, which goes to Linz and on into Germany. There are 6 ICE departures daily from Vienna Central Station to Linz, Wels and on via Passau to numerous destinations in Germany.

Tip

Travel to Vienna International Airport by Railjet

ÖBB Railjet trains travel to Vienna International Airport via Vienna Meidling and Vienna Central Station twice an hour. The inclusion of Bregenz, Innsbruck, Salzburg, Linz and St. Pölten means ÖBB provides direct connections to Vienna International Airport from a total of five western Austrian state capitals. Travel time from Linz to Vienna International Airport is as little as 1 hour 43 minutes. You can also get to Vienna International Airport from Salzburg in 2 hours 49 minutes. ÖBB Railjet trains connect to Vienna International Airport every hour from Attnang-Puchheim, Vöcklabruck, Wels, St. Valentin, Amstetten and Tullnerfeld. In some cases it is necessary to change trains at Vienna Central Station. Two ÖBB Railjet services arrive at Vienna International Airport every hour.

The AIRrail service enables tickets between Linz and Vienna Airport to be booked together with the connecting flight.

Mit dem ÖBB Railjet jede Stunde von Wien nach Salzburg.

Mit dem ÖBB Railjet können Sie zweimal pro Stunde von Wien über St. Pölten und Linz nach Salzburg fahren. Für die Strecke zwischen Wien und Salzburg benötigen Sie im schnellen ÖBB Railjet nur 2 Stunden 22 Minuten. Diese Verbindungen mit nur zwei Zwischenhalten in St. Pölten und Linz werden stündlich angeboten.Zusätzlich besteht zwischen Wien und Salzburg ein Railjet-Stundentakt mit Halten an weiteren Knotenbahnhöfen, wo Sie zahlreiche Anschlüsse in die Region haben. Diese Züge mit Halt in wichtigen Knotenbahnhöfen benötigen für die Strecke Wien-Salzburg nur 2 Stunden 53 Minuten. Von Wien nach Linz gelangen Sie im ÖBB Railjet in ab 1 Stunde 16 Minuten.

Das dichte Angebot wird durch den ICE nach Linz und weiter nach Deutschland ergänzt. Täglich fahren 6 ICE-Züge von Wien Hauptbahnhof nach Linz, Wels und weiter über Passau in zahlreiche Städte Deutschlands.

Tipp

Mit Railjet direkt zum Flughafen Wien!

Zweimal pro Stunde fahren ÖBB Railjets der Weststrecke über Wien Meidling und Wien Hauptbahnhof zum Flughafen Wien. Damit binden die ÖBB mit Bregenz, Innsbruck, Salzburg, Linz und St. Pölten gleich fünf Landeshauptstädte der Weststrecke direkt an den Wiener Flughafen an. Die Fahrzeit zwischen Linz und dem Flughafen Wien beträgt nur mehr ab 1h 43min. Auch von Salzburg ist man ab 2h 49min am Wiener Flughafen. Attnang-Puchheim, Vöcklabruck, Wels, St. Valentin, Amstetten und Tullnerfeld werden stündlich mit den ÖBB Railejts angebunden. Bei manchen Verbindungen ist ein Umstieg in Wien Hbf notwendig. Pro Stunde kommen zwei ÖBB Railjets am Wiener Flughafen an.

Mit dem Angebot AIRail lässt sich die Zugstrecke Linz - Flughafen Wien gemeinsam mit dem Anschlussflug buchen.