From the Buda Castle Quarter to the old market hall and the thermal baths: Budapest awaits you with a wide range of fascinating sights. With ÖBB Sparschiene Europa, we take you to Hungary's capital city for as little as 19 euros.

Inexpensive trips to Hungary

With Sparschiene, you can travel from Vienna to Budapest as well as many other Hungarian cities for as little as 19 euros. You can get your Sparschiene ticket from the ÖBB customer service at +43 (0)5 1717, at the ÖBB ticket counters or from travel agencies selling train tickets. The offer is limited - it is therefore advisable to book your ticket well ahead of time.

Warning: if you switch to an Intercity in Hungary, you will need a seat reservation which is subject to a fee (incl. surcharge). You can purchase it online on the railway operator MÁV-Start's German-language website or at the train station where you switch trains. For online purchases, you need to be registered. You furthermore need to print your seat reservation as a home print ticket.

Our connections for you

We offer you a tight connection schedule to Budapest: the ÖBB Railjet takes you from Vienna to the Hungarian capital city at two-hour intervals. Benefit from many further Railjet and Eurocity connections from Salzburg and Linz via Vienna to Budapest. From Innsbruck, you also have 2 daily Railjet connections for your excursions and business trips.

Daily direct connections to Budapest (outward and back)

  • Salzburg - Linz - Budapest: 6 connections
  • Vienna - Budapest: 11 connections
  • Innsbruck - Budapest: 3 connections
  • Graz - Budapest: 1 connection
  • Night train (1 connection from Salzburg and Linz; 2 connections from Vienna)

Further connections to Hungary

Apart from Budapest, you can also use Sparschiene to reach numerous further destinations in Hungary. For example, you can travel directly from Vienna to Debrecen and Nyíregyháza. Or simply switch trains to reach many further destinations. We also offer a return journey to Vienna late in the evening.

Hint

Everything at a glance - up to 11x daily to Budapest and back
All connections in detail can be found in our realtime timetable information. Simply enter your desired date and time and choose your connection.

Tip

How to reach downtown Budapest quickly
From the Kelenföld train station in Budapest, Metro 4 will take you downtown quickly. Depending on your destination, the travel time is between 5 and 8 minutes. At the train station, you will also find a tourist information office, as well as a sales outlet for the Budapest transport association (BKK). All trains to Austria depart from this station.

Vom Budaer Burgviertel über die alte Markthalle bis zu den Thermalbädern: Budapest erwartet Sie mit einer breiten Palette an Sehenswürdigkeiten. Wir bringen Sie mit der ÖBB Sparschiene Europa bereits ab 19 Euro in die Hauptstadt Ungarns.

Günstig nach Ungarn

Mit der Sparschiene reisen Sie ab 19 Euro von Wien nach Budapest und in viele weitere ungarische Städte. Ihr Sparschiene-Ticket erhalten Sie beim ÖBB Kundenservice unter +43 (0)5 1717, an den ÖBB Ticketschaltern und bei Reisebüros mit Ticketverkauf. Das Angebot ist begrenzt - buchen Sie daher bitte rechtzeitig.

Achtung: Wenn Sie in Ungarn in einen Intercity umsteigen, brauchen Sie eine kostenpflichtige Platzkarte (inkl. Zuschlag). Sie erhalten diese online auf der deutschsprachigen Seite des Verkehrsbetreibers MÁV-Start oder am Umstiegsbahnhof. Für den Online-Kauf benötigen Sie eine Registrierung, Sie müssen die Platzkarte außerdem als Home-Print-Ticket ausdrucken.

Unsere Verbindungen für Sie

Wir bieten Ihnen ein dichtes Fahrplan-Angebot nach Budapest: Der ÖBB Railjet bringt Sie im 2-Stunden-Takt direkt von Wien in die ungarische Hauptstadt. Profitieren Sie von vielen weiteren Railjet- und Eurocity-Verbindungen von Salzburg und Linz über Wien nach Budapest. Auch von Innsbruck stehen Ihnen täglich 2 Railjet-Verbindungen für Ihre Ausflüge und Geschäftsreisen offen.

Tägliche Direkt-Verbindungen nach Budapest (hin und zurück)

  • Salzburg - Linz - Budapest: 6 Verbindungen
  • Wien - Budapest: 11 Verbindungen
  • Innsbruck - Budapest: 3 Verbindungen
  • Graz - Budapest: 1 Verbindung
  • Nachtreisezug (1 Verbindung ab Salzburg und Linz; 2 Verbindungen ab Wien)

Weitere Verbindungen nach Ungarn

Neben Budapest erreichen Sie mit der Sparschiene zahlreiche weitere Destinationen in Ungarn. Reisen Sie beispielsweise direkt von Wien nach Debrecen und Nyíregyháza oder mit Umsteigen in viele weitere Orte. Auch spätabends ist eine Rückfahrt nach Wien möglich.

Hinweis

Alles auf einen Blick - bis zu 11x täglich nach Budapest und zurück
Alle Verbindungen im Detail finden Sie in Echtzeit in der Online Fahrplanauskunft. Einfach Ihr gewünschtes Reisedatum angeben und Verbindung suchen.

Tipp

Rasch in die City von Budapest
Vom Budapester Bahnhof Kelenföld kommen Sie mit der Metro 4 rasch in die Innenstadt. Die Fahrzeit beträgt je nach Ziel rund 5 bis 8 Minuten. Am Bahnhof finden Sie auch ein Informationszentrum des Tourismusamtes und eine Vertriebsstelle der Budapester Verkehrsbetriebe (BKK). Alle Züge nach Österreich fahren von diesem Bahnhof ab.