The capital Bratislava, numerous spas such as Piest'any or Trencianske Teplice or hitherto undiscovered cities such as Trencin or Kosice in the east of Austria’s neighbour invite visitors to an entertaining city trip. Mountainous Central and Eastern Slovakia with the well-known High Tatras, Low Tatras and Slovak Paradise National Park are waiting to be discovered by you.

ÖBB takes you to Bratislava from all across Austria - comfortably and affordably

From Vienna’s Main Station, using our REX trains which depart hourly, you can reach Bratislava in about 1 hour. Departing from the provinces and including a swift and comfortable changing of trains, you can be in the Slovak capital in roughly 3 hours from Linz and in approximately 4 hours from Graz or Salzburg.

Use our Bratislava ticket and get from Vienna to Bratislava in an affordable way, including a day pass for the public transport system in Bratislava. More information

The Sparschiene Ticket is a great and affordable way to travel to Bratislava from all over Austria, for instance from Linz and Graz to Bratislava from 19 € and from Salzburg from 29 €.

Discovering Slovakia with ÖBB

The direct train from Vienna to Kosice offers the best, most comfortable direct connection to Slovakia east of Bratislava. From Vienna’s Main Station, you can reach Poprad-Tatry, the gate to the High Tatras and the Slovak Paradise National Park in about 5 hours.

In addition to the direct connection, we offer you many attractive transfer connections that depart every 2 hours to Central and Eastern Slovakia, changing trains at Bratislava Main Station (hl.st.). For instance, this allows you to reach the Low Tatras (arrival station Liptovsky Mikulas) from Vienna in as little as 4h23min.

Tip

Our Sparschiene Tickets are an affordable way to travel to any place in Slovakia, for instance from Vienna to Liptovsky-Mikulas or Poprad-Tatry from 24 € and to Kosice from 29 €. Travelling on Intercity-trains in Slovakia requires a compulsory seat reservation. Purchase your seat reservation through the ÖBB Customer Service line at +43 (0)5 1717, the ÖBB ticket counters and travel agencies offering ticket sales.

How to get your Sparschiene Ticket

You can purchase your Sparschiene Ticket online in the ÖBB Ticketshop or via the ÖBB App as well as through the ÖBB Customer Service line at +43 (0)5 1717, the ÖBB ticket counters and travel agencies offering ticket sales. Sparschiene Tickets to Slovakia are available in 1st and 2nd class. Children below the age of 15 travel for free if accompanied by their parents or grandparents. Limited availability - please book early.

Die Hauptstadt Bratislava, die zahlreichen Kurbäder wie Piešt‘any oder Trenčianske Teplice oder bisher unentdeckte Städte wie Trenčin oder Košice im Osten des Nachbarlandes locken zu einem kurzweiligen Städtettrip. Die gebirgige Mittel- und Ostslowakei, mit der bekannten Hohen Tatra, der Niederen Tatra und dem Slowakischen Paradies warten darauf, von Ihnen entdeckt zu werden.

Mit den ÖBB komfortabel und günstig aus ganz Österreich nach Bratislava

Bratislava erreichen Sie von Wien Hbf mit den stündlichen REX-Zügen in rund 1 Stunde. Aus den Bundesländern erreichen Sie die slowakische Hauptstadt mit kurzem und attraktivem Umstieg in Wien Hbf, von Linz in knapp 3 Stunden und von Graz und Salzburg in jeweils rund 4 Stunden.

Mit dem Bratislava-Ticket reisen sie günstig von Wien nach Bratislava, inklusive Tageskarte für den öffentlichen Stadtverkehr in Bratislava. Mehr Infos

Mit der Sparschiene reisen Sie aus ganz Österreich günstig nach Bratislava, z.B. von Linz und Graz nach Bratislava ab 19,-* Euro, ab Salzburg ab 24,-* Euro.

Mit den ÖBB die Slowakei entdecken

Mit dem Direktzug Wien-Košice bieten wir Ihnen beste, komfortable Direktverbindungen in die Slowakei östlich von Bratislava. So erreichen Sie Poprad-Tatry, das Tor zur Hohen Tatra und dem Slowakischen Paradies, ab Wien Hbf in rund 5 Stunden.

Zusätzlich zur Direktverbindung bieten wir zahlreiche attraktive Umsteigeverbindungen im 2-Stunden-Takt in die mittlere und östliche Slowakei. Der Umstieg erfolgt dabei in Bratislava Hauptbahnhof (hl.st.). So erreichen Sie z.B. die Niedere Tatra (Zielbahnhof Liptovsky Mikuláš) ab Wien in ab 4h23min.

Tipp

Mit der Sparschiene reisen Sie günstig in die gesamte Slowakei. Z.B. von Wien nach Liptovsky-Mikuláš oder Poprad-Tatry ab 24,-* Euro und nach Košice ab 29,-* Euro. In der Slowakei sind Intercity-Züge nur mit Sitzplatzreservierung benützbar. Eine Sitzplatzreservierung erhalten Sie beim ÖBB Kundenservice unter +43 (0)5 1717, an den ÖBB Ticketschaltern und bei Reisebüros mit Ticketverkauf.

So kommen Sie zu Ihrem Sparschiene-Ticket

Ihr Sparschiene-Ticket erhalten Sie online im ÖBB Ticketshop und über die ÖBB App. Außerdem beim ÖBB Kundenservice unter +43 (0)5 1717, an den ÖBB Ticketschaltern und bei Reisebüros mit Ticketverkauf. Sparschiene-Tickets in die Slowakei sind in der 1. und 2. Klasse verfügbar. Kinder unter 15 Jahren reisen in Begleitung ihrer Eltern oder Großeltern kostenlos mit. Das Angebot ist begrenzt - buchen Sie daher bitte rechtzeitig.

Tipp

Auch mit Umsteigen sparen
Wir bieten Ihnen unsere Sparschiene-Tickets in die Slowakei auch für Umsteigeverbindungen an. Diese gelten ab allen ÖBB Bahnhöfen und Haltestellen in Österreich zu den meisten Destinationen in der Slowakei.

* Ab-Preis pro Person und Richtung, 2. Klasse, kontingentiertes und zuggebundenes Angebot, max. 6 Monate (180 Tage) vor Fahrtantritt buchbar. Keine Ermäßigungen. Umtausch, Stornierung und Erstattung ausgeschlossen. Es gelten die Tarifbestimmungen der ÖBB-Personenverkehr AG.