Here, you will find all information on our points of sale, prices and cancellation terms for vehicle tickets.

Points of sales for vehicle tickets

Tickets for cars and motorcycles can be purchased up to 6 months in advance at the following points of sale: at the ÖBB ticket shop, at the ÖBB customer service at +43 (0)5 1717, at the ÖBB ticket counters, at the ÖBB travel agencies and from domestic as well as international travel agencies selling rail tickets.

In Germany, you can purchase your vehicle ticket from the DB sales offices, in Italy from the ÖBB sales offices and in Switzerland from the train station travel agency Wipkingen in Zurich (a booking fee applies).

Please note: in addition to the vehicle ticket, all passengers travelling along need individual personal tickets for the ÖBB night train. All special offers as well as further information can be found at oebb.at/nachtreisen.

What you need for your booking

When booking the ticket for your vehicle, please provide the following information:

  • Car model
  • License number
  • Dimensions, including all superstructures (e.g. roof luggage or ski racks)

Warning: places for cars with special sizes (height of more than 158 or width of more than 200 centimetres) cannot be booked via the ÖBB ticket shop. These tickets can only be booked with the ÖBB customer service at +43 (0)5 1717, as well as from the ÖBB ticket counters.

Exchange, cancellation and reimbursement

A ticket exchange for a motorail train is treated as a cancellation combined with a new booking. Warning: for online tickets, neither exchanges nor refunds are possible. For all further tickets, the following provisions apply:

  • Until 15 days prior to the first day of validity: free reimbursement
  • After this until 1 day prior to the first day of validity: reimbursement of 50 % of the fare (minimum of 15 Euro)
  • After the first day of validity: no reimbursement

For domestic travel, the provisions mentioned refer to the total amount specified on the ticket (car or motorcycle cargo plus transport of passengers).

Prices for vehicle transport

Standard as well as peak season cargo prices apply to the transport of vehicles by rail within Austria. Peak season prices apply year-round on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays (day of departure), at all other times the standard prices apply. Warning: for motorcycles with sidecars or trailers as well as trikes, car transport prices apply.

Place and time of loading for cars and motorcycles

Vehicles are generally loaded starting 1 to 2 hours prior to the departure of the train. Please note the time of loading specified on your ticket, and arrive at the place of loading "Vienna Central Station Motorail Train (platform 14 to 16) on time. Access is currently only possible via Gudrunstraße/Laimäckergasse.

When entering the facility, please present your vehicle ticket. The vehicle will be inspected briefly, and you will be asked to park in a waiting lane on the loading parking lot until you are ready to load your car or motorcycle. The persons accompanying you can already enter the waiting area through the pedestrian tunnel. It is not possible to enter/exit the vehicle in the immediate proximity of the ramp. In the barrier-free waiting area, there is an air-conditioned waiting room with snack and beverage vending machines, as well as toilet facilities with a nappy-changing area.

Hier finden Sie alle Informationen zu unseren Verkaufsstellen, Preisen und Stornobedingungen für Fahrzeugtickets.

Verkaufsstellen für Fahrzeugtickets

Tickets für Autos und Motorräder können Sie bis zu 6 Monate vor Ihrer Reise bei folgenden Stellen buchen: online, beim ÖBB Kundenservice unter +43 (0)5 1717, an den ÖBB Ticketschaltern, bei den ÖBB Reisebüros und bei Reisebüros mit Ticketverkauf im In- und Ausland.

In Deutschland bekommen Sie das Fahrzeugticket bei den DB Vertriebsstellen, in Italien bei den ÖBB Vertriebsstellen und in der Schweiz beim Bahnhofreisebüro Wipkingen in Zürich (Buchungsgebühr).

Bitte beachten Sie: Zusätzlich benötigen alle mitreisenden Fahrgäste Personentickets für den ÖBB Nachtreisezug.

Das brauchen Sie für die Buchung

Bei der Buchung des Tickets für Ihr Fahrzeug geben Sie bitte folgende Daten an:

  • Wagentype
  • Polizeiliches Kennzeichen
  • Maße einschließlich aller Aufbauten (zum Beispiel Dachgepäck- oder Skiträger)

Achtung: Plätze für Autos mit Sondermaßen (Höhe über 158 und Breite über 200 Zentimeter) können nicht online gebucht werden. Ihre Buchung ist ausschließlich beim ÖBB Kundenservice unter +43 (0)5 1717 und an den ÖBB Ticketschaltern möglich.

Umtausch, Stornierung und Erstattung

Der Umtausch eines Tickets für den Autoreisezug wird wie ein Storno und eine Neubuchung behandelt. Achtung: Für Online-Tickets gibt es weder Umtausch noch Erstattung. Für alle weiteren Tickets gelten folgende Bestimmungen:

  • Bis 15 Tage vor dem 1. Gültigkeitstag: kostenlose Erstattung
  • Danach bis 1 Tag vor dem 1. Gültigkeitstag: Erstattung von 50 % des Fahrpreises (mindestens 15 Euro)
  • Ab dem 1. Gültigkeitstag: keine Erstattung

Im Inlandsverkehr beziehen sich die angeführten Bestimmungen auf die auf Ihrem Ticket angegebene Gesamtsumme (Auto- oder Motorradfracht plus Beförderung der Reisenden).

Preise für den Fahrzeugtransport

Für den Transport von Fahrzeugen mit dem Zug in Österreich gibt es Standard- und Hochsaisonfrachtpreise. Hochsaisonpreise gelten ganzjährig an Freitagen, Samstagen und Sonntagen (Tag der Abfahrt), ansonsten sind die Standardpreise gültig. Achtung: Für Motorräder mit Beiwagen oder Anhänger sowie Trikes bezahlen Sie die PKW-Transportpreise.

Verladeort und Verladezeiten für Autos und Motorräder

Das Verladen der Fahrzeuge beginnt in der Regel 1 bis 2 Stunden vor der Abfahrt des Zuges. Bitte beachten Sie die auf Ihrem Ticket angegebene Verladezeit und finden Sie sich pünktlich bei der Verladestelle "Wien Hauptbahnhof Autoreisezug" (Bahnsteig 14 bis 16) ein. Die Zufahrt ist vorerst ausschließlich über die Gudrunstraße/Laimäckergasse möglich.

Bitte weisen Sie beim Einfahren in die Anlage Ihr Fahrzeugticket vor. Das Fahrzeug wird kurz überprüft und Sie halten in einer Wartespur des Verladeparkplatzes, bis Sie das Auto oder Motorrad aufladen können. Ihre Mitreisenden können bereits durch den Personentunnel in den Wartebereich gehen. Unmittelbar an der Rampe ist das Zu- und Aussteigen nicht mehr möglich. Im barrierefreien Wartebereich gibt es einen klimatisierten Warteraum mit Snack- und Getränkeautomaten sowie WC-Anlagen mit Wickelbereich.